small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

pink skirt and tennis shoes

on August 31, 2010

The past few days have been really fun because I’m putting a lot of energy into looking for the small things that make me smile. I noticed that Sunday was all little things, and that is why I loved it so much. Took a nap on the couch with the husband, played the game Ticket to Ride, sang with the husband as we cleaned, and talked for over an hour about life. Not too bad for a Sunday!

Today was a little more detail oriented.

*At morning mass I noticed a lady wearing a nice pink jacket and skirt and to finish the look wore nice white New Balance tennis shoes. To all the fashion experts out there this was a fashion nightmare, but to me, this woman has her priorities straight.

*I drove by the high school by my house and saw the marching band practicing. All 20 of them. They were marching in and out of parked cars. This made me smile considering that would not fly with my old high school band of over 100, and it was just amusing to watch. I admire their dedication.

*I learned about antlions because my husband decided it would be fun to feed ants to them. His curiosity amazes me.

*I got a message from a former camper from Camp Tekakwitha. She lives in the same city I do now so we get to have coffee dates soon. Wow. Who would have thought I’d actually know a few people here? This place does get a little better each day.

*My youngest brother sends me a text whenever he is bored, which is quite often. I appreciate that he thinks of me so much 🙂

So I’ve experienced both broad and detailed ‘small things’ in the past two days and it has helped me to realize that I need to focus more on those things in the moment, and then remember them later in the day. I still get overwhelmed with all the uncertainties in life right now so it is really good that I’m making a point to reflect at the end of each day.

Try to think of a few ‘small things’ that might have gone unnoticed if you didn’t stop to think. Life is pretty dang awesome when you stop and think.

Leave a comment

