small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

do hummingbirds sing?

on September 1, 2010

Hello all. My signal to update the blog was when I saw two hummingbirds flying right outside my patio window. They are really cool looking birds and fun to watch. My first thought was man their wings go fast! They would be even more cool if they could sing like other birds. Maybe their song is within their wings…

The past few days I have been pondering one small thing: humility. I like the double meaning in that last sentence. Humility is recognizing how small we are, but it really is not a small thing. It takes a lot to truly be humble. I was reading from “In Conversation With God” on Sunday and it shocked me how humility, seeming such a small thing, can really make a big difference in your life. “Humility means acknowledging our littleness, our nothingness, and at the same time knowing that we are bearers of divine treasures of inestimable value.” Hmm. So I’m little? Nothing? Wow, that’s encouraging. But when you look at the last part of that sentence the BIGness of humility comes out. We are instruments to bring greatness. We ourselves are not great, but we can bring good. Now THAT I like. I am always happy when I am able to bring good to someone else, make them smile, laugh, or even say nice things about me. (We all like compliments, naturally!) But we miss the point when we seek out the recognition for ourselves. The moment then shifts from bringing joy to another to bringing recognition to ourselves. What once was selfless is now selfish.

I needed to hear all of this because I’ve been struggling a lot with pride recently. So even though kicks in the butt aren’t fun, I know this ‘small thing’ will really help me be a better wife, sister, daughter, friend.

Here is the Litany of Humility which seems rather harsh at first, and frankly ridiculously hard to ask for these things, but, again, can really transform our hearts!

Litany of Humility

Leave a comment

