small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

old friend diego

on September 7, 2010

Today was full of small things and they were very random.

Small Thing #1 (ST1) I woke up to the 20 person high school marching band playing their halftime show music. I love that I live right next to a high school for that reason. I’m just like my dad because that was his favorite thing when we lived right next to Shawnee Mission West, the marching band music in the morning.

ST2: I wore the same outfit today that I wore last night to a friend’s house. I laughed at myself at my resourcefulness, it is a cute outfit and no one will know I wore it twice, unless I post it on my blog. Oops…

ST3: Coffee at Starbucks in the morning is great, but sitting outside talking for two hours with a friend I haven’t seen in many years is even better. Thanks for the hugs, friend!

ST4: I took a broken shelf back to the store and got cash back. It is amazing how a little cash can feel like a million bucks sometimes. I can’t wait to spend it on something fun, like a Cherry Limeaid Chiller from Sonic. MMMM. And then maybe some Cheddar bites. Even more MMMM.

ST5: I found my Harry Potter Silly Bandz that I got from my friend this weekend. They are Notre Dame colors and in the shape of random things from Harry Potter. I almost washed them in the pocket of my jeans. Thank you, mom, for teaching me to check the pockets before I wash pants!

ST5: I found my old friend Diego. He is my guitar and I had forgotten I put him in the hall closet as we unpacked. Poor guy was stuck in a dark closet, collecting dust. We shared some quality time together and he reminded me that I need to hang out with him more often. Diego, I’m sorry I’ve neglected you. I will make it up to you by buying you some new strings, ok?

ST6: My husband answered the phone when my mom called and pretended to be me. Gotta love the falsetto voice, and that it left my mom speechless for a few seconds!

And now it is time for me to go to bed with the wind blowing through the windows. Oh I love fall!

Thanks for reading. Let me know what small things you noticed today. The more random the better!

Leave a comment

