small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

simply irresitible

on September 27, 2010

I have a feeling my posts reflecting on the weekend are going to end up being LONG. I guess that’s a good thing though, that means they are filled with many small things!

Friday

ST1: Welcoming smiles and conversations. I went to officially join the parish close to our apartment and was welcomed with happy faces and inquisitive conversation. I already felt a part of the church when I walked in! Their new priest is newly ordained and seems like lots of fun. I am excited to start singing in the choir and helping with youth ministry. The people I met couldn’t stop smiling, and neither could I.

ST2: Fall in the Grotto. I spent the afternoon on campus and some time observing in the grotto. The wind was so strong it made small tornados with the leaves which made many of the visitors stop and watch. It is a beautiful sight to look at the kneeler in front of the grotto full. Most of the people there were visitors carrying their hundreds of dollars worth of Notre Dame gear from the bookstore, but they all had a reason to stop and ask God to keep watch over them. Pretty cool.

ST3: Dining hall chocolate milk is amazing! I don’t know about you, but in college I just LOVED getting the chocolate milk…delicious. And at my school I bet it came straight from a cow on campus. haha. Friday I ate in the South dining hall with my husband and some of his labmates, and it could have been lunch AND dinner with all the food available. It’s pretty amazing that not everyone on this campus is overweight, you could have whatever you want however much you want…its awesome. You can even make a waffle with the notre dame emblem on it. But I prefer to have my fill of fresh chocolate milk.

ST4: I still can’t get over the amazingness of the internet. First I ordered wedding pictures from Snapfish.com in a flash, and right after I caught up on all of my Thursday TV shows on nbc.com. LOVE IT.

ST5: Cool buildings. We went to a friend’s apartment for his birthday party, which is inside of an old high school. It’s pretty cool that they converted this high school into apartments! His place has a really tall ceilings and large windows. It is hard to imagine what it looked like in its prime. You still see remnants of the gym floor too! People are very creative these days. Oh, and the party was fun, too.

Saturday

ST1: Apple Muffins. The apple making still continues, and this endeavor was for the breakfast fans. The smell was amazing and the taste even better. Here is the recipe, just make sure to add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and use double the apples. My husband ate 4 of them for ‘lunch’ when he got back from work. I forgot that boy appetite is very different than girls sometimes!

ST2: KSU Football. Amazing rain storm, awesome playing, great game. The best part is, I got to watch the whole thing on TV! Too bad I wasn’t with other Wildcat fans, but my new friend is an OU fan and she let me watch the game with her. I’m witnessing some Big 12 camaraderie up north and it’s nice.

ST3: Board games. My friend and her fiance played a few games with my husband and I in between football games. One was called Small World and the other was Carcassone. Both had a manageable amount of rules and were a lot of fun! Did I win? No. But as I’ve said before I’m working on becoming a better loser and am getting a lot of practice.

ST4: Going to bed early on a Saturday night. Even though we didn’t do a whole lot of physical activity, we both were pretty tired so we were in bed before 11. We had some fun conversations and eventually drifted off to sleep. What a great way to end a great day.

Sunday

ST1: Staying in my PJs until after lunch. We had a very lazy morning which consisted of eating muffins while playing video games. We played mean bean machine enough times to earn an entirely new game. I got so competitive that I couldn’t stop playing until I had won at least one of our series of games. Then we watched some TV and made lunch. So nice to be lazy with him.

ST2: Squirrel hunting in a park. I got a little antsy after sitting around most of the morning so we went to the St. Patricks County park close to our apartment. It wasn’t as big as I had imagined, but they have some great trails through the woods that we checked out. In the process we saw lots of furry animals, and so it was our goal to tread softly and hunt down those creatures. We noticed a few squirrels fighting up and down a tree and running on the ground. As hard as we tried, we couldn’t catch one. They aren’t as tame as the ones on campus, that’s for sure!

ST3: Candy bar overload ice cream. I really don’t think I need to explain that one.

ST4: A cello player at church. We tried out the 8pm mass at another church and they had kind of a youth band playing, with a cello! It was pretty cool to listen to how much a string instrument like the cello can add to pretty much anything. I really admire strings players because I have no clue how you play one. I’m a flute and piano girl. Even though I try the guitar,  the strings just don’t make sense!

ST5: Talking to my grandparents and youngest brother both within 5 minutes of each other. It’s almost like I’m at home in those moments and I love it. I’d love to do that more often.

And so this post comes to a close. It was a great weekend and I was reminded of how wonderful things are when we really stop and look at the good stuff. The bad can sometimes consume us, but really there is much more good.

Since it is St. Terese of Lisieux’s feast day on Friday I’d like to give you this quote of hers: “Our Lord needs from us neither great deeds nor profound thoughts. Neither intelligence nor talents. He cherishes simplicity.”

Lets simplify our lives with seeking the small things that make us smile!

One response to “simply irresitible

  1. I read your posts and am reminded of what a great person you are. I know you are making the best of moving so far away, learning to be a married person and not a singleton anymore, and not being in the classroom. Hang in there my sweet. You’re right on when you say that the good Lord has plans for you…amazing plans… I don’t know what they are but He will reveal them. And then you will be dancing in the streets.

    Love ‘ya,

    marsha

    Like

Leave a comment

