small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

the little way

on September 30, 2010

I’m not feeling too inspired to write tonight, so I apologize for things that might not make sense. πŸ˜‰ But I don’t need inspiration to tell you about today’s small things.

ST1: Making a photo collage. I took some pictures from family events and made a collage through Picasa. It turned out really awesome, so I might have to get it printed. This collage represents so much about family. I have been so blessed which family members that I actually like to hang out with! It’s pretty cool that I had a lot more pictures that I wanted to include but I didn’t have space.I guess that means I can make another one. πŸ™‚

ST2: The smell of freshly dried sheets. I’m preparing to have guests this weekend so I’ve been washing sheets and blankets. I put the sheets on the guest bed and wow the smell was heavenly. I walk into that room and can’t help but smile. Good job, laundry detergent companies for making laundry more delightful than it seems to be.

ST3: Clouds. I was walking on campus today and I noticed how clouds were basically outlined by the sunlight, making them seem to pop out of the sky. I had to remember that what I was seeing was actually real and not from a movie. It’s truly amazing that what I saw today was just a normal part of life that I missed seeing so many times. So beautiful.

ST4: Squash! Not the vegetable, the sport. My husband has been playing this game for a while with one of his graduate student friends, and today his friend canceled, so I took his place! I’ve decided the best way to describe this game is to say it is like raquetball but the ball is squishy and you want to squash it. Yes, the pun was intended. I really liked the challenge of learning a new game and figuring out how to win. Again, my humility is getting a workout since of course my husband beat me all three games. I did score a few points though and didn’t run into the wall too hard. I consider it a success.

ST5: Singing while doing dishes. Somehow after dinner my husband and I started singing our own versions of “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands”. None of them really made sense, but it definitely made doing dishes a lot more fun!

ST6: Getting text messages from my family. They were at the Royals game in the Crown Club seats eating themselves to the next pants size and kept telling me of how great it was. The Crown seats are all you can eat dugout seats. Pretty sweet way to watch a game. Of course my first thought was JEALOUS! But it was so nice that they wanted to ‘share’ the experience with me. Now if the Royals lose they’ll still leave happy!

ST7: St. Therese of Lisiuex, The Little Flower. Her feast day is tomorrow, which means we get to celebrate her life and how she exemplified Christ as she lived. I don’t know much about her except she lived her life through the little things, which is what I hope to be able to start doing because of this blog. Here is a quote from her, “Love proves itself by deeds, so how am I to show my love? Great deeds are forbidden me. The only way I can prove my love is by scattering flowers and these flowers are every little sacrifice, every glance and word, and the doing of the least actions for love.”

I hope you all had a great day and will find some great joy in your days tomorrow.

St. Therese of Lisiuex, pray for us!

Leave a comment

