small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

why wait?

on October 6, 2010

I feel like I’ve been in hiding for the past few days since I haven’t logged into my blog since Thursday. Things have been unusually busy around here lately, which is definitely a good thing, but it has left my relationship with my blog lacking a bit. Here’s to trying to recap the small things in the past few days! (another long post, so get comfortable!)

ST1: Listening to the high school marching band practice from the comfort of my home. They’ve improved a lot since the beginning of the season! And it reminded me how much I love cool fall mornings.

ST2: Unexpected tears. I watched the Today Show and they had a family who’s daughter died and her heart was transplanted in another woman. It was an amazing story and I didn’t think I’d cry, but the mom said when she met the woman with her daughter’s heart she put her head on her chest to hear her daughter. That’s when the tears started gushing. Amazing.

ST3: Adoration with a class of students. After mass on Friday morning they had Adoration for the rest of the day. I heard a pack of students come in with their teacher from the parish school. It is a foreign concept for students to pray during school because of my public school upbringing,  but it was really neat to witness. I’m excited to be able to share that with the students when I start substituting in the schools.

ST4: Small children with large accessories. As I was waiting to pick up my friends from the train station I noticed a dad and his daughter getting out of a car with all their belongings. The girl had a backpack twice her size and had a hard time walking straight. This didn’t phase her, however, because she was a big girl traveling with her daddy. So cool to see.

ST5: Inflatable decorations. There is a house close to my apartment that takes decorating for Halloween seriously. They have an inflatable horse drawn carriage-hearse and a huge Frankenstein. For as much as inflatable decorations confuse me, I admire people who show their passion for holidays by decorating their entire front yard.

ST6: KSU love. A lady in Target saw my K-State shirt and stopped to chat. She was a grad in the 80s and we chatted for a while, sharing our love for that town and college. I left that conversation reminded of why I wear purple so much, and I felt a little less alone in SB.

ST7: Irish Sing-alongs. My husband and I took our visiting friends to our favorite Irish pub in town. We enjoyed lots of beer, food, and of course live music. The band was really great, and the best part was they provided sing along sheets. It was almost as good as having the bouncing Mickey Mouse head from Disney Sing Along Songs. Almost. Speaking of Disney…

ST8: Beauty and the Beast is now on DVD!!!! I just need to find money to purchase it to add to my collection!

ST9: Random run-ins. As we were leaving the pub I heard someone call my name, which is not normal in a town where I know a handful of people. It was my cousin who is a student at ND, so we got a chance to catch up and I got to personally congratulate him on getting accepted to medical school. We also ran into our new friends and their baby twice this weekend. Once at the grocery store and again at mass. I am so thankful for how God has placed these people here at this time to help with my adjustment to being away from all I know.

ST10:Liquid Nitrogen. My friends and I visited my husband’s lab to see what he does everyday. We saw the crazy expensive equipment he uses and got some explanations of what he does. My favorite part was playing with science. We first played with the dry ice that one of their chemicals came in, and then ventured into a lab with liquid nitrogen. I love how you can just throw this stuff on the floor and the beads of liquid just roll around then evaporate. So cool. I’m so proud of all my husband does, even though I don’t fully understand it. And he lets me play with the fun stuff.

ST11: Old friends. I’m not talking about people who are old and my friends, but friends I’ve known for a long time, therefore they’re old. Anyway, I spent the whole weekend hanging out with these two girls and it just brightened my life. We literally spent hours talking, and never was there a dull moment. These girls have known me since college and we all have grown so much since then. How beautiful is it to know that I can be my complete self, tell them my deepest struggles, and know that they will love me anyway. It was such a gift this weekend to be reminded of that love, since I’ve been far away for a few months. God taught me that distance doesn’t matter. Love goes beyond distance and time. And for that I’m grateful.

ST12: Chocolate. This goes for many things. The girls helped me finish off the Oreo Goodness my mom gave me from the wedding. We also enjoyed the amazingness of Caramel Apple and Pumpkin Spice Hershey’s Kisses. And we had Chocolate cake which gave us enough sugar high to not walk to the college football hall of fame field, but to run there. So fun.

ST13: A job. I am now officially a substitute teacher for the Catholic schools in the area. In order to get familiar with Catholic schools I asked to have a tour of my parish school. A wonderful lady gave me a tour on Monday, telling me the ins and outs of Catholic school and introduced me to some people there. It was great and I could feel the desire in me to be in that school right then, teaching those kids, but I went home sad knowing that wasn’t going to happen the way I wanted. So as I was clearing up my tears I got a call from that same school, asking for me to sub there on Tuesday. WOAH. The waiting was over, I was going to work in a school. Was it worth the wait?

ST14: Third Grade. So I was a 3rd grade aide yesterday. I was going to be a religion teacher but things got changed so I could team teach with another sub for a third grade class. Wow was it fun! I forgot what elementary school was like, and it was kind of refreshing to see little kids and be reminded of how fun they can be. They have so much to learn and they actually want to. It was a blast and it felt amazing to be back among kids, helping them learn. It was also a perfect segue into substituting so I could learn procedures of the school before actually teaching there. I am so glad I waited because I feel I’m in a better position to work now than I was a few weeks ago. He knows whats up, always. It was worth the wait, for sure.

ST15: acts of kindness. A man saw a woman struggling to open the door and get her stroller through, so he got up, asked if she could use some help, and opened the door for her. It was so small, but touched me. I love seeing strangers help each other out of pure kindness. Way to go strange guy at the coffee shop. Brownie points to you.

Lots more happened this weekend, but these were the highlights. I am dedicated to being more diligent in my postings this week because they help me stay focused and positive in each day.

What was one small thing that really made you smile in the past few days? Post your responses if you feel so inclined!

I leave you with a great quote from the saint I’m feeling pretty close to right now. St. Therese of Lisieux.

Thérèse of Lisieux

“May today there be peace within.

May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.

May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.

May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you.

May you be content knowing you are a child of God.

Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.

It is there for each and every one of us.”
Thérèse of Lisieux

One response to “why wait?

  1. Mikala says:

    Hi … great list again! Mmm, oreo goodness, how could I forget those wonderful little balls of heaven!! Remind me how your mom made those things!! I’ll totally impress everyone I know if I make them!!
    The little thing that made me smile today … Austyne came home from school telling us about how her after-school teacher was playing a game with the kids and she was working with him to win … she told him “I may be small, but I’m FULL of talent!” I agree with you, the spirit of young kids can be so fun! Congrats on the new job … have fun!

    Like

Leave a comment

