small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

Go with God, Crispy

on October 7, 2010

A good day overall. Beautiful weather and some good quality time with my husband. yay! Small things here we come…

ST1: The rosary. Today is the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary. I have a strange relationship with this prayer, we’re friends, then we’re not, but today I got a new insight from the priest this morning. He told a story of his grandmother on her death bed. She had prayed the rosary every day ever since she could remember. She was close to dying and had all her family in the room praying the rosary together. She lost consciousness and the doctors were astonished when she finished saying the hail holy queen (the last prayer) while unconscious. WOW. That really made me think about the power of that devotion.

ST2: silence. I was in the library today reading up on classroom behavior techniques and I noticed that it was dead silent. Everyone around me was reading something and not making a sound. Isn’t it amazing that we can be absorbing information and no one knows what it is? cool! And it was so nice to not be distracted by noise and be able to focus on my ‘studies’.

ST3:Oreo Truffles (Oreo Goodness): I was asked on the last post to provide the recipe for the chocolate wonder my mother makes. So here is the recipe, from my mom’s kitchen.

1lb package Oreo Cookies
8oz cream cheese
1 pkg Chocolate Almond Bark
1 pkg Vanilla Almond Bark (optional)

Crush Oreos in ziplock bag with rolling pin. In a medium mixing bowl, combine Oreos and cream cheese and blend together. Refrigerate for one to two hours. Roll dough into small balls, approximately one inch.

In a double boiler, melt chocolate almond bark on LOW heat. Once the chocolate has melted, dip each ball in chocolate and place on wax paper to set. Once the chocolate has hardened you may garnish with optional decoration (drizzle with white almond bark, paint with edible glitter or sprinkles).

ST4: powerful words. I follow a blog called conversiondiary.com and she posted about how she changed from pro-choice to pro-life. It was incredible. I wish I could speak with such conviction and heart.  Here is the link to the audio if you want to have a listen. Definitely worth your time, no matter what your personal opinion is. Why I went from pro-choice to pro-life

ST5: encouraging words. My husband and I played squash again today (you know, the sport like raquetball but the ball is more squishy so you want to squash it) and I wasn’t doing so well. He was, of course, playing his best against me and I was getting frustrated. But it was so nice to hear encouragement from him to help me keep going. I love how he doesn’t play easy on me just because I’m learning. He’s playing just the same he would normally so I can learn to play that way too. Its hard on my pride, but hopefully I’ll use what he teaches me to beat him someday!

ST6: The apple corer, peeler slicer. With all the apples I have been baking with it has been a dream owning this device. I cut up 10 cups of apples for apple crisp in no time! I know for a fact I wouldn’t be baking with apples if I had to peel and slice them manually. So I give some brownie points to the inventor of that genius device!

My husband is saying goodnight to me in as many languages as he knows, and some he doesn’t. I guess that’s my cue to join him. Much love!

2 responses to “Go with God, Crispy

  1. Keith says:

    SISTER ACT TWO!!! and oreo truffles. YUM.

    Like

  2. mom says:

    for the oreo goodness you can use a food processor and it makes the oreos really smooth \then place the cream cheese in and it makes a huge ball just love the food processor

    Like

Leave a comment

