small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

a-maze-ing

on October 10, 2010

Here are the small things for this weekend. Let’s go!

Saturday

ST1: Coolers. Aren’t portable refrigerators great? Just add ice for hours of coolness. This is perfect for a tailgate party that starts at 8am and goes till 3. Cold beverages on demand in the middle of a field. Perfect.

ST2: Free food. We didn’t plan very well for our tailgate today so all we brought to eat were a few bagels and some sun chips. I could smell brats and burgers cooking all around me and wished we would have brought better food. Then a lady from a group next to us invited us to eat with them! It was glorious. We decided to migrate to another tailgate group for a while and on our way we were stopped and a group offered us more food and even drinks! These fans are generous. Thank you random people for making our tailgate experience wonderful.

ST3: HD TV. I love seeing the blades of grass on the football field and the beads of sweat dripping down the players faces. It was really nice seeing Nortre Dame win in HD. It just made it that much more enjoyable.

ST4: Dogs driving cars. We saw a car parked in the parking lot of the grocery store with a dog sitting in the front seat. No, it wasn’t curled up in the seat, it was sitting upright, and for a moment I thought it was a person. Wow, something strange is always seen in this town.

ST5: Catching bugs. My husband has amazing curiosity, and this time it led him to catch a fly with a wine glass against the wall. I hear him yelling “could you get me a piece of paper” and I walk in to the living room to this scene. I asked him why he needed to catch it and he said, “what else was I supposed to do?” Good question.

ST6: Handwritten letters. I received a letter from a friend in response to a note I sent her a while ago. It was so nice to get a handwritten note and her words were so sweet and just what I needed to read that day. Try to mail a letter to someone in the near future, it will definitely brighten their day!

Sunday

ST1: Photosynthesis declining. I love that this process begins to fade in the fall so I can see beautiful colors of leaves as I drive around town each day. We saw some of the darkest reds I have seen on trees today. I kind of don’t want fall to end. Mostly because no fall means COLD is coming!!!

ST2: no food tax! I looked at the receipt after grocery shopping and noticed that there was absolutely NO TAX on anything I bought. What?? I guess they don’t tax food here. SWEET. This means I might have to go buy some more food…

ST3: Shower for sale. Yes. We drove by a house which had a whole shower unit by the road with a sign that said “$100”. I just love this place sometimes.

ST4: Pumpkins! We went to a pumpkin patch today and enjoyed a corn maze, apple cider, gourmet apples, and picking our own pumpkins. It felt like summer with the heat, but it is definitely fall now that I have a pumpkin. Here are the pics from our trip.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

ST5: Stove Top Stuffing. It makes an easy addition to chicken and cream of mushroom soup. I love easy delicious meals. mmm.

Well, it is time to chill with my husband before another week begins. Oh, we watched a great movie called Defiance last night. If you like WWII movies this one is awesome. It’s about a group of Jewish people who escaped from ghettos to live in a forest during the war. Pretty amazing story. See it!

Ok, I’m really leaving now. Happy 10/10/10

Leave a comment

