small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

aye aye captain

on October 11, 2010

What a great Monday. I spent most of it at home, but it was very enjoyable. And the ST (Small Things) list begins!

ST1: Sponge Bob the pirate. I was driving to mass this morning and noticed yet another inflatable Halloween decoration. So of course I took a picture with my phone, but for some reason it came out not blurry but warped. I didn’t know my phone had special effects!

ST2: Daily Decalogue of Pope John XXIII. The priest today talked about this pope and how cool he was in life before his papacy, since he was only pope for a few years. He wrote in a journal and this was his daily 10. I am inspired to try some of these each day. It’s amazing how even just one can change your life.

1. Only for today, I will seek to live the livelong day positively without wishing to solve the problems of my life all at once.
2. Only for today, I will take the greatest care of my appearance: I will dress modestly; I will not raise my voice; I will be courteous in my behavior; I will not criticize anyone; I will not claim to improve or to discipline anyone except myself.
3. Only for today, I will be happy in the certainty that I was created to be happy, not only in the other world but also in this one.
4. Only for today, I will adapt to circumstances, without requiring all circumstances to be adapted to my own wishes.
5. Only for today, I will devote ten minutes of my time to some good reading, remembering that just as food is necessary to the life of the body, so good reading is necessary to the life of the soul.
6. Only for today, I will do one good deed and not tell anyone about it.
7. Only for today, I will do at least one thing I do not like doing; and it my feelings are hurt, I will make sure no one notices.
8. Only for today, I will make a plan for myself: I may not follow it to the letter, but I will make it. And I will be on guard against two evils: hastiness and indecision.
9. Only for today, I will firmly believe, despite appearances, that the good Providence of God cares for me as no one else who exists in this world.
10. Only for today, I will have no fears. In particular, I will not be afraid to enjoy what is beautiful and to believe in goodness. Indeed, for twelve hours I can certainly do what might cause me consternation were I to believe I had to do it all my life.

ST3: smushed bananas. They make excellent banana bread!

ST4: reading all afternoon. Since I didn’t get a call to work today I went to the library to get the book Defiance because I watched the movie the other day and fell in love with the story. I’m really enjoying this non-fictional story, obviously because I’ve been consumed all afternoon!

ST5: the perfect pen. I was writing a note to myself and I realized I was using an amazing pen. It didn’t smear, it had great ink control and the writing was smooooth. I must find more of these writing wonders.

ST6: Dinner plans. We met a newly married couple about a month ago through one of my husband’s friends. We hit it off and vowed to hang out soon. Well a month has past and we finally get to hang out next week for dinner. I’m really excited because she used to be a teacher before she moved here so we can share our stories, and her husband wants to get into making beer, so he and my husband can have lots to talk about too. Plus they just seem to be fun, down to earth people like the people I know and love back home.

ST7: tech savvy. I’m still so excited that I figured out how to insert a photo slideshow in my blog yesterday. I’m pretty proud. Check it out if you didn’t see it yesterday, pretty cool! 😉

Time for dinner and some husband time. We’re going to have a rematch playing Dr. Robotnicks Mean Bean Machine on GameCube. Wish me luck!

P.S Let me know what you think about the Daily 10 from Pope John 23. I’ll try to update you on how it goes for me.

One response to “aye aye captain

  1. Brook says:

    LOVE the Daily 10! I think I might print it out and put it on my mirror so I can remind myself of it everyday! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a comment

