small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

take a seat

on October 12, 2010

Another day without working, but that’s ok. I’m confident there will be need of a substitute teacher someday in the near future πŸ™‚

Small Things ready? GO!

ST1: parking spot wars. So my husband and I get one spot outside our apartment and a garage. Normally I park in the garage and he parks in the outside spot. During the day I normally park in the outside spot if I know I’ll be out and about, so yesterday I did that. However, I didn’t actually run the errands I thought I would so I left my car in the spot outside. My husband came home last night and parked in the garage. He didn’t say anything to me last night about being in ‘his’ spot but I noticed this morning what I had done. I am so amazed he didn’t say anything, because I know if I were in his position I would have definitely made sure he knew that he parked in the wrong spot. Another way my husband is teaching me to not sweat the small stuff.

ST2: blue sky. Did you see that sky today? Talk about blue. The weather here has been amazing for the past few days and today was another one of them. I walked around campus and all I could notice was how clear the sky was and it made the many colors of the fall leaves stand out even more. I couldn’t help but smile.

"Jump Mom" Jesus and the golden dome Mary on Notre Dame's Campus

 

ST3: chipotle! I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I adore chipotle. I used to be against it just because everyone else loved it, but I caved. I ate the small child sized lunch with my husband and one of his labmates. It was quite enjoyable, even with the pesky bee wanting a taste.

ST4: park benches. I’ve thought about benches before and sometimes I think they are put in strange places, or I wonder if anyone ever sits in them to just relax. People seem so busy that just stopping to sit doesn’t seem top on anyone’s list. My husband and I visited a bench today to pray the rosary by the grotto. It was nice to just sit and enjoy being outside, but also cool to think of how many other people had sat in that bench, doing the same thing we were.

ST5: laughing at myself. I had a skype date with a friend tonight and it was so wonderful. She and I used to get coffee all the time and ponder life. So I made some tea and talked with her for a long time. I told her about all the ridiculous things I’ve thought and felt in the past few months since we’ve talked and we laughed a lot. Its so refreshing to not take life too seriously and to laugh at myself, knowing that I’ve learned from it and hopefully won’t be as ridiculous next time. She challenged me to write more about what I’m passionate about, so I’m hoping to take up that challenge. Maybe that will give me some more laughs πŸ™‚

ST6: squirrels. These guys are fearless! We walked right by one and it didn’t even move. They are really funny too because if they think you have food they will follow you. One time a guy had about 4 of them following him. So great. Here is a pic of one eating its prize for the day.

ST7: The shower is still on the side of the road.

Time to go read my book and wait for my husband to get home from his looooong day of experiments. Ciao!

One response to “take a seat

  1. Brook says:

    I love the image of a fat squirrel following you around looking for lunch. Ha! πŸ™‚

    I love you more than that though! Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a comment

