small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

coffeeeee

on October 21, 2010

It was a nice sunny but chilly today in the Bend. I was fairly productive and really enjoyed the small things today.

ST1: cheesy animation set to music. In elementary school each year before Halloween we would watch the PBS animation of Camille Saint-Saens piece Danse Macabre. I love this song because it was the first time I realized that music can tell a story. We also sang along with the main melody, “H-A-double L- O-W-double E-N spells Halloween”. Thank you to my music teacher for teaching me about classical music in such a fun way. Here is the video. It is worth watching to hear the beautiful song and to watch the creepy Halloween story unfold.

ST2: new coffee shop. I ventured to a new part of town today and found a cute little coffee shop where I enjoyed a delicious mocha. I like to find places like this so all my coffee money doesn’t go to the coffee giant. Did you know Starbucks is testing out selling alcohol in one of their Seattle stores. I digress. So as I was at this new place I noticed a framed quote on the wall, which was so perfect I have to share.

“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” –Robert Brault

ST3: table manners (or lack thereof). My husband and I were having a nice dinner when I noticed he was holding his fork strangely, so I told him jokingly that was not good etiquette and I imitated him. That led to the rest of our meal being a quest to outdo the other in bad table manners. We laughed so hard, especially when he tried to slurp his water and spilled on himself. Don’t worry, he survived. That was the most fun dinner we’ve had in a while 🙂

ST4: Writing a letter to myself. I had a spiritual director once suggest to write a letter to yourself from God’s perspective as a form of prayer. It is amazing the insight you can get when you step out of your own mind and let the holy spirit do the talking! So here is what was revealed to me today in my letter to myself, which was pretty cool. “You are letting the unknown disturb your peace, which is the exact opposite of what you should do. I came to bring peace. Think of when you are most at peace and create that moment, always. I love you and my plan will astound you.” I then thought about when I am most at peace….when I live IN the moment, not before or after it!

ST5: I forgot to mention that the new coffee shop had awesome lids for their coffee. In order to prevent spills it had a sliding tab that opened and closed the top! I think that is way better than the Starbucks’ splash stick. For real.

Alright, time to go be peaceful in the moment, or at least start to work on that 😉 Much love…

Leave a comment

