small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

italian blend

on October 27, 2010

What’s up readers? I hope this week has been good to you. Wed-nes-day was wonderful and here are some small things that caught my attention.

ST1: the wind. It is amazing that this is one force of nature you really can’t ‘see’ but you see the effects of it. And we’re seeing lots of effects here. The leaves are blowing at speeds I didn’t know were possible, and making a sound so loud I sometimes think it’s raining. I’m just thankful it is not accompanied by a storm…I don’t live in Kansas anymore. πŸ˜‰

ST2: coffee, ipod, good book. I spent a few hours at Starbucks today reading, writing, and listening. I like going there because I am around people but I still get to be by myself. I was in my own little world surrounded by the bigger world. I am so thankful that I can spend time in the middle of the day doing what I love.

ST3: going for a drive. There is something very relaxing about driving on a nice fall afternoon. I went exploring to the north of my apartment and drove to State Line Road, which is not the state line I’m used to. This time it was the Indiana/Michigan border. What a beautiful sight it was today, multi-colored tree lined streets with a battle with the wind for a straight path on the road. I’m really enjoying fall here. I just hope we can skip winter…

ST4: wedding gifts in the mail. 3 months later and the wedding gifts still come. I am grateful for their generosity, and for continuing the celebration of our marriage πŸ™‚

ST5: What I am doing you do not know now, but afterward you will understand -John 13:7 Wow, this is definitely what I need to hear right now. I often ask God why he took me away from my family, friends, and great teaching job to get married to a man I never lived in the same city with and move 10 hours from everything I know and to be unemployed for nearly 3 months. At the time it seemed crazy and a against what I thought was good for me. Now I’m slowly starting to realize that of course HE was right, I wasn’t. It’s kind of like when my parents had rules that I thought were unfair and I thought my rules were better. They would always say “you’ll thank me when you’re older” or something to that extent. Isn’t that so true, even when we don’t want to admit it…Hindsight is always 20/20

ST6: A giant spider web that covers an entire house. Yet another dedicated Halloween decorator.

Alright, I shall go back to watching Robin Hood with my husband. The one where the Gladiator is Robin Hood, which is way better than Kevin Costner…eww.

I need to hear more small things, people! πŸ™‚

7 responses to “italian blend

  1. Kathy says:

    Kari, I absolutely love your description of the wind and the leaves! Two nights ago, before I went to bed, I opened the front door and the storm door and just stood there listening and watching. It did indeed sound as though it was raining. The beautiful golden leaves swirling all over making such crunching sounds. The wind was blowing so hard it appeared as though it was snowing beautiful leaves. I shared the experience with my second graders yesterday. I’m so glad that you had an identical experience an entire time zone away. It is 9 p.m. I’m still at school getting ready for parent teacher conferences tomorrow and Friday. I walked by my computer and there your e-mail was. Take care and keep posting….

    Like

  2. Bernadette says:

    My small thing was that my third grader was home from school for conferences today. While playing a math game on the computer she was singing “Ave Maria” to herself. I don’t think she even knew she was doing it. It brought me so much joy to know that was the song stuck in her head!

    Like

  3. Bernadette says:

    I love reading your blog Kari! It helps me look for the small things that I enjoy in my day instead of focusing on the things that bother me. Looking forward to seeing you in two weeks!!

    Like

  4. Josie says:

    No, Russel Crowe is way better! I used to have a MAJOR crush on him in high school…Jimmy just watched that movie on Netflix, too. Funny how things parallel!

    Like

  5. Brook says:

    Kari! I’m totally struggling with God’s plan for me today. Thank you so much for posting this line from John: What I am doing you do not know now, but afterward you will understand -John 13:7

    It’s exactly what I needed to hear!

    Love you!!!

    Like

  6. Mikala says:

    I too enjoyed the wind today! I was driving down the narrow street to my work parking garage with the windows down and this huge swirl of leaves came flying in my window and knocked me in the face! I laughed out loud!! Also, my ST is that Austyne’s little friend in 2nd grade had to write a poem for her Brownies meeting. Her mom sent her poem to me … too sweet!
    Austyne is my very best friend
    Our friendship will last forever.
    Austyne has 1 brother,
    I have two.
    She has one dog, I have zero.
    She’s a K-State fan,
    I am a Chiefs fan.
    But no matter what,
    we will still be friends.

    Like

Leave a comment

