small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

king of the uphill

on November 8, 2010

Well hello Monday. It has been quite the weekend and it is kind of crazy to think it is Monday already! There were so many small things to make me smile over the past few days so I will try to recap as efficiently as possible. Get comfortable!

ST1:baby showers. I just joined the choir at my church and my 3rd practice was turned into a baby shower for one of the choir members. It was a blast getting to talk with the people and share in the excitement of a new baby. One of the members made the cake, which was 4 layers and DELICIOUS.

ST2:Fortune Cookies. My aunt, uncle, his parents, and 2 cousins came to visit this weekend. We had lunch at a Chinese restaurant and of course enjoyed fortune cookies. The fortunes, however, were not very fortunate. “Don’t worry about the world coming to an end. It’s already tomorrow in Australia” and my favorite, “The road to success is always under construction”. The last one was for my cousin who is a senior in high school. She didn’t see that as promising… haha. Gotta love fortunes…

ST3:playing pretend. Friday night I was able to spend some time with my 9 year old cousin while her parents went to my cousin’s musical on campus. I forgot how much fun playing pretend was! I was the mom of two little girls and I took them to a restaurant where my cousin was the owner. We laughed so much, especially at my cousin’s lack of ‘cooking’ skills. Its amazing what the mind can create! I always love my time with her and I can’t believe she is so grown up! Thanks MG for helping me be a kid again.

ST4:musicals. Yes. I admit it. I pretty much love musicals. Even the most ridiculous ones. My cousin, a senior at ND, was the director of the musical “The Drowsy Chaperone” on campus. Oh was it funny. It was full of ridiculous characters, hilarious songs and ironic plot twists. My cousin did an amazing job putting this show together, and he was so proud of his creation.

ST5:snow in November. Nope, that was not a typo. November 5th was a day to remember (remember, remember the 5th of November) for many reasons. First it was my mom’s birthday (yay!) and then the 1st snow here. I was not fully prepared for this so at first I was a little grumpy about it, knowing that winter is not far away. But then after taking a few pictures I realized that snow is pretty cool and worth smiling about. Especially when you can capture a pumpkin covered in snow 😉

ST6:state parks. Sunday was a hiking adventure at Potato Creek State Park. My husband and I along with two friends enjoyed the Advanced Rugged trail through the northern Indiana landscape. We encountered lots of hills, leaves, trees, and the highest point tin the county, around 800 ft elevation. I know, pretty intense! We also enjoyed a maze through the wetlands restoration area. It was a fun day of beautiful weather and exercise.

ST7: spock. I watched my first ‘real’ Star Trek movie (not including the newer one). The Wrath of Khan was actually a good movie, and I am now a little hooked. Its fun to watch these movies with my husband because he gets so drawn into the story that it makes me want to know as much as he. So fun.

ST8:good examples. In today’s In Conversation with God meditation I was struck by this passage. “Let us fill our life with works of charity and mercy. Normally, these works will consist of very tiny details: making an effort to smile, to give encouragement, cheerfully assisting our colleagues at work, forgiving and forgetting the mistakes of our neighbors…This behavior is the real testimony we can give to the world.”

I really liked this because it shows how simple it can be to be a good example. I know many people who have been this to me. It makes it easier when looking at it as a series of small things. Of course I love that 😉

ST9: 4th grader’s tricks. I was a 4th grade teacher on Friday and a student came up to me and said “I can put my leg behind my head, wanna see?” So right there in the middle of the hallway he showed me his trick and scooted down the hallway with one leg behind his head and the other pushing himself across the floor. I long for the days when making a fool of yourself was considered cool!

And that concludes the weekend installment of the small things. I really enjoyed reading your comments from a few posts ago. Thank you for helping me be connected with you! Have a fantastical Monday.

4 responses to “king of the uphill

  1. Keith says:

    I really like all those pictures. I think at some point I’ll have to watch those star trek movies too since I like the new one so much. I also like that passage because it doesn’t take much to practice mercy and charity.

    Like

    • Keith says:

      oh, and I noticed that you cut the top of your pumpkin in a circle. The top won’t sink in like that if you cut a funky shape instead. <–Vital information for your everyday life.

      Like

      • Kari says:

        I feel I should let you know that I cut the top of MY pumpkin in a funky shape, while the pumpkin pictured is actually Jonathan’s. It was interesting that when we carved pumpkins, everyone cut it in a circle! This was foreign to me!

        Like

  2. Alison Kramer says:

    Kari- I love reading your blog and reading about all the great, small things in your life. Thanks for sharing! Great photos in this post. Hope you are doing well!

    Like

Leave a comment

