small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

reading rainbow

on November 18, 2010

My motivation to blog has been lacking a lot lately. But, I’m getting anxious to travel back to Kansas in a few days! Here are a few small things to sum up the past few days of my blog-less-ness.

ST1: The sound of a 2nd grader reading. I was able to doing some reading testing with some students that I will be tutoring. It was so fun to hear a young voice read a story to me. I can’t wait to work with these kids!

ST2: costumes. I got my costume for the Madrigal Dinner in two weeks and I’m very excited to wear it. Its made out of teal corduroy and its very heavy. It fits perfectly! I’ll post pictures when I wear it.

ST3: a late night text. My youngest brother sent me a text late last night just to tell me he likes listening to my songs. How cool is that? If you want to hear one of my songs, go to this post and click on the link from the last ST in the post.

ST4: good stories. I read this story from Patrick Madrid’s blog about a few Protestant missionaries who through their missionary work in Guatemala were drawn to the Catholic Church. It was great to read about their journey because it reminded me of the fullness of faith the Church gives us as Catholics. It’s definitely worth the time to read!

ST5: Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha.

ST6: Jet Dry.  Our dishes have been having streaking issues after being in the dishwasher, so thanks to the MIL who suggested Jet Dry, we now have streakless dishes.

ST7: 40% off at Michael’s. So I love this store because almost everything was 40% off today, in addition to the coupons you get in their advertisements. I had to refrain from getting things I didn’t need–it’s hard to do when you’re getting a deal!

Tonight we’re playing Settlers of Catan with our two new friends. I’m making chili and homemade cornbread. Hopefully it’ll be good!

Entertain me with some good things happening with you! Comments are free! 😉

3 responses to “reading rainbow

  1. Keith says:

    I survived this week of assignments and am now on Thanksgiving break. I’m celebrating by seeing Spamalot tonight and HP tomorrow with Kirk. I can’t wait until you and Jonathan come home!

    Like

  2. Josie says:

    Kari I have always loved your outlook on teaching, so simple and good; sometimes, it’s the only thing that gets me through crazy days at school. Thanks. 🙂 Oh, by the way, Michaels is ALWAYS 40% off, they just want you to THINK you’re getting a good deal, kind of like Kohl’s. hehe.

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Thanks for saying that Josie, its hard to be a teacher most of the time, I’m just lucky to be out of the grind so I can learn to appreciate it again!

      And you’re right, Michael’s IS always on sale!!!

      Keith—yeah Thanksgiving break!!!

      Like

Leave a comment

