small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

life is burritoful

on November 19, 2010

Oooh. Color. I like it. Small things…go!

ST1: late nights/late mornings. We played Settlers of Catan till 11 last night, which was a little late for us. This meant that I forgot to bring my phone into the room and therefore missed a call for a substituting job this morning. Eek. However, it was a lovely day for a little sleeping in, and my husband agreed.

ST2: email counseling sessions. I emailed a friend today asking for some advice and she was quick to respond with some great thoughts! The best part is, she was at work and yet I still could ‘talk’ to her. Have I told you I love the internet?

ST3: homemade cornbread. D-lish-us. Who knew you could make cornbread without using the Jiffy mix?


ST4: I was reminded by my husband that I should think of St. Therese of Lisieux and why she was called the Little Flower whenever I feel that what I’m doing isn’t significant.

Jesus deigned to teach me this mystery.  He set before me the book of nature; I understood how all the flowers He has created are beautiful, how the splendor of the rose and the whiteness of the Lily do not take away the perfume of the little violet or the delightful simplicity of the daisy.  I understood that if all flowers wanted to be roses, nature would lose her springtime beauty, and the fields would no longer be decked out with little wild flowers.

“And so it is in the world of souls, Jesus’ garden.  He willed to create great souls comparable to lilies and roses, but He has created smaller ones and these must be content to be daisies or violets destined to give joy to God’s glances when He looks down at His feet.  Perfection consists in doing His will, in being what He wills us to be” —St. Therese of Lisieux from her autobiography The Story of a Soul

So even in my small acts like doing laundry or going to the grocery store,  I am being the flower God created me to be, big or little!

 

ST5: chipotle’s receipt. I most definitely agree with the last statement.

What is “burritoful” about your life right now? Small OR big! Life is burritoful for me because I got to eat Chipotle with my awesome husband today, AND we’re going home to Kansas in just a few days 🙂

3 responses to “life is burritoful

  1. Brook says:

    My two hour nap this afternoon was burritoful…It’s been ages since I did that. Oh and eating breakfast burritos at my friends house this morning was definitely burritoful! 🙂

    Happy early Thanksgiving, pretty girl!

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    Hi, Kari! We are just returning from the KSU – Colorado game. Colorado was so much fun and we saw so many purple people there! K-State does indeed travel very well. Unfortunately, the game did not turn out the way we wanted, but being with family and friends was a real blessing. We drove up to Estes Park and I did some Christmas shopping and Allan and Beth played with all the Elk….. photos to prove it. We ate some delicious food. Boulder has a section known as Pearl STreet. It is similar to, I think it is called Gaslight Square, in San Diego. We’ve gone out there for a couple of bowl games. The Air Force sent up two jets before the game in Colorado and it was impressive. All in all, a great time, now lots of laundry and getting ready for lots of cooking. How much time will you be able to spend in Kansas? I know it will be a blessing to be with both of your families. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

    Like

    • Kari says:

      That sounds like a great trip! I remember running into the Elk in Estes too. So fun! We will be in KS from Tuesday till Sunday. Short trip, but I’m so thankful we are able to make it!

      Like

Leave a comment

