small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

mysterious oyster cracker

on November 22, 2010

One day and I’ll be back in Kansas! I cannot describe my mood accurately, so I’ll leave it up to your creative imaginations.

These are the small things from this weekend. I was an emotional roller coaster through most of it but managed to find lots of things to keep the smile going. 🙂

ST1: HP7p1. This movie was A-MAZE-ING. I forgot how much I love the Harry Potter story. Now I’m back to reading book 7 and anxiously anticipating the next movie. In celebration of this movie, here is one of my favorite Harry Potter YouTube videos.

ST2:french silk pie. Jonathan and Brett made dinner and dessert for me and Victoria in exchange for us playing Star Wars Risk with them. So, it was worth it because they made homemade French Silk pie. It rivals the Pie Lady in Lenexa…mmm.

ST3: oyster cracker art. We found these shapes in the oyster cracker sea. It was fun to make pictures with them!

ST4: quick prayers. There are numerous people who stand at the corners of intersections with signs saying they are out of work and need help. I have been struggling what to do with this because I’ve heard that some of these people are not really homeless, which makes me wonder what they use the money for. After days and days of simply driving by wondering what I should do, I got an inspiration. Any time I pass by someone begging for money I have said a quick prayer for them. I have a feeling that prayer might do more than if I gave them a dollar. I hope.

ST5: Reindeer car. It continues, enthusiastic dedicated decorators are out in full force. Today it is a car with antlers coming out from the top of each front door window and a big red ‘nose’ on the front grill of the car. I don’t know if Rudolph would be proud or not. Jury is still out.

ST6: advent is coming. Next Sunday begins the four week waiting period before Jesus’ birthday. Advent is one of my favorite seasons because it is a time of preparation. There is something beautiful about preparing for a visit. I’ve been able to do this a lot over the past few months, and there is something soothing about doing a deep house clean before a guest, making sure everything is in its place and ready for the guest to feel at home during their visit. I’m looking forward to doing a little interior cleaning before Christmas. I’d really like to be prepared for Jesus’ birthday. I want to show Him I’m really ready for Him this year. Part of that is going to be me getting healthy. I’ve been a little lax on my eating and exercising regimen, so I’m planning on giving up coffee and soda starting Sunday. I’m not sure yet what do do about the exercise…bleh. Any ideas??

ST7: Mother Teresa stamps. I normally don’t buy special stamps, but I thought it was so cool they have Mother Teresa on them, so I had to get them. This is what it says on the back of each stamp:

Noted for her compassion toward the poor and suffering, Mother Teresa (1910-1997)–a Roman Catholic nun and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize–serve the sick and destitute of India and the world for nearly 50 years. In 1996, President Clinton and the US Congress granted her honorary citizenship, an honor bestowed on very few.”
WOW! What would it say on the back of your stamp?

ST8: THUNDER! There is nothing quite like a clap of thunder that shakes your entire being. It just happened and it was pretty great.

Alright, I am now going to finish doing laundry and begin packing for the journey tomorrow. Road trip to KC commences in a little more than 24 hours. “There’s no place like home…”

Saint Cecilia, pray for us!

One response to “mysterious oyster cracker

  1. Kathy says:

    Kari, When I see a sign that reads, “Will work for food,” I stop and roll down my window and ask if they would like an apple or bananna or grapes, or granola bar, or whatever I have in the car with me. I always have something with me. If they say, “No, thanks,” I wonder if they are hungry. You are so right, it is difficult to know what to do. In grade school, we were taught to stop and pray whenever we heard a siren. We were taught when the recess bell rang to stop and silently say the Hail Mary and then walk to get in line to go inside. Your idea of a prayer is one that I’ll use along with my offer of a piece of fruit or other food item. Enjoy your families on your Thanksgiving weekend.

    Like

Leave a comment

