small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

O rainy night

on December 12, 2010

Hello from a soggy South Bend. It has been snowing/raining for what seems like FOREVER. And it will only continue. The rain should change over to snow later tonight and snow snow snow through the day tomorrow. I do love snow, but just like with most things, it’s only good in moderation!!

ST1: Hugs from strangers. Well, 5-year-old strangers. I was a computer teacher on Friday and got many hugs from the Kindergardeners as they left. I don’t think I will ever get tired of that!

ST2: Christmas shopping is DONE! And I have wrapped EVERYTHING. I am not sure if this has ever happened this early for me in my long 26 years of life. I love it. Aren’t they pretty??

ST3: Home Alone 2. Probably one of the best Christmas movies. If you’re a fan, please leave a comment with your favorite quote from the movie. PLEASE!!

ST4: Deep Conversations, old and new. Yesterday I chatted with an old friend for more than two hours sitting at Starbucks and that night I met up with a new friend and chatted and drank wine for about the same amount of time. And tonight I hung out with another new friend for dinner and the Christmas concert. Thinking back on those conversations, I realize how God truly has my back while I’m up here. He arranged for a friend from KC to be here while I’m living here, and he arranged for me to meet these new friends whom I have really connected with. Love it!

ST5: The Undertones’ surprise song. They are a group within the ND Glee Club that performs fun a capella songs, and guess what they sang at the Glee Club concert tonight? The SAME arrangement of O Holy Night performed by *Nsync that I posted a few days ago…CRAZY awesome. I freaked out just a little when I heard the first chord. Wow I’m a nerd.

P.S. I need your favorite Christmas songs. I’m working on my list and I need to make sure I don’t exclude really good ones…So get those commenting juices flowing.

Here’s to more rain and lots of snow tonight. yay.

5 responses to “O rainy night

  1. Keith says:

    “KEVIN! YOU SPENT $967 ON ROOM SERVICE!”

    “What kinds of idiots do you have working here?”
    “The Finest in New York!”

    “Wow, What a Hole.”

    And I’m pretty sure we have the same taste in Christmas Songs, so I won’t list any.

    Like

  2. Kathy says:

    Kari, I don’t necessarily know the names, maybe just verses. Here goes: Allan’s favorite is Silver Bells, Silver Bells, It’s Christmas Time in the City.

    Mine are: Jingle Bell Rock, Wallking in a Winter Wonderland, Joy to the World, Chestnuts Roasting on a Open Fire – Jack Frost nipping at your nose; and Hark the Herald Angels Sing.

    Like

  3. Courtney Hoover says:

    That was the sound of a tool chest falling down the stairs.

    Don’t you know a kid always wins against two idiots?

    SUCK BRICK KID!

    Give this to Kevin.
    Give this to Kevin.
    Give this to Kevin.
    Kevin.
    Give this to Kevin.
    Give this to Kevin.
    Give this to Kevin.
    Give this to Kevin.
    Here you go Kevin.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    Kevin’s not here.
    WHAT?
    KEVIN!

    Oh, the list could go one FOREVER!!!

    Like

  4. Jeyne says:

    Harry: Here we are Marv. New York City, the land of opportunity.
    [sniffs]
    Harry: Smell that?
    Marv: [sniffs] Yeah.
    Harry: Know what that is?
    Marv: Fish.
    Harry: It’s freedom.
    Marv: No, it’s fish.
    Harry: It’s freedom, and it’s money.
    Marv: Okay, okay, it’s freedom.
    Harry: Come on, let’s get out of here before somebody sees us.
    Marv: And it’s fish.

    Cedrick the Bellman: Do you know how the TV works?
    Kevin McCallister: I’m 10-years-old. TV is my life.

    Kevin McCallister: You can mess with a lot of things, but you can’t mess with kids on Christmas.

    Like

  5. Keith says:

    So I love the fact that we can quote this WHOLE MOVIE!

    Like

Leave a comment

