small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

pa rum pa pum pum

on December 17, 2010

Whew! A full week of substituting and tutoring is over! I forgot what it was like working full time, and so did my body. Pretty sure yesterday I could have fallen asleep standing up. But I am so thankful for the opportunities I have been given, so if tiredness is a side effect, so be it.

Here are a few small things from the week.

ST1: We’re famous! Ok, not really, but Jonathan and I did make the Belltower Photography blog! Our friends who own Belltower Photo took our engagement pictures a month before our wedding and now they are on their blog. Go HERE to see them on the December 10th post. Yeah!

ST2: children singing. The bishop of the Fort Wayne-South Bend diocese visited the school on Wednesday and I got to witness my first all school mass. It was so cool to hear so many kids singing! I also was impressed that they were very well behaved through the whole thing, that is not an easy feat!

ST3: The sparkle of freshly fallen snow. I drove to work this morning and noticed the shimmer of the snow as the light from my headlights hit the ground. For as much as I’ve been annoyed at times by the constant presence of snow, this morning reminded me of how truly beautiful snow is!

ST4: pure wonder and awe of a 1st grader. I am the computer teacher until Tuesday, and so I’ve been seeing kids discover new things on their computer programs. It is hilarious to see one kid find something cool, then they have to broadcast it to the whole class, then they all ask “how did you do that?” and they get all excited. I’m sure this is annoying for teachers who see them everyday, but for me its just plain adorable. I wonder what I was like at that age…

ST5: Favorite Christmas songs! Alright, I’m going to start sharing my list of favorite Christmas songs and the best version (in my opinion). I’ll give you 2 today.

12: Little Drummer Boy. I love this song not only because we sing the drum part, but I can just picture a drummer contemplating what an honor it is to play for Jesus. He was summoned because of his talent, to share it with Him. Do I use my talents to honor Him like the drummer boy? Here is my favorite version by Jars of Clay.

 

Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see, pa rum pum pum pum
Our finest gifts we bring, pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

So to honor Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
When we come.

Little Baby, pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum,
On my drum?

Mary nodded, pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum,

Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum.

11: God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen. This song musically is awesome. I just love its dark but hopeful sound, and the lyrics just show how important Jesus’ birth really is! Here is my favorite version of this song, by Mannheim Steamroller.

God rest ye merry, gentlemen
Let nothing you dismay
Remember, Christ, our Saviour
Was born on Christmas day
To save us all from Satan’s power
When we were gone astray
O tidings of comfort and joy,
Comfort and joy
O tidings of comfort and joy

In Bethlehem, in Israel,
This blessed Babe was born
And laid within a manger
Upon this blessed morn
The which His Mother Mary
Did nothing take in scorn
O tidings of comfort and joy,
Comfort and joy
O tidings of comfort and joy

From God our Heavenly Father
A blessed Angel came;
And unto certain Shepherds
Brought tidings of the same:
How that in Bethlehem was born
The Son of God by Name.
O tidings of comfort and joy,
Comfort and joy
O tidings of comfort and joy

So there you have it, some small things AND the beginning of my top 12 Christmas songs! Let me know what you think!!

One response to “pa rum pa pum pum

  1. Keith says:

    I enjoy both of those songs.

    I bet the cool things those kids discover are so simple to us, which would make their discoveries that much better.

    I can’t wait to see snow. There is a little at home, but it doesn’t count.

    Like

Leave a comment

