small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

Fröhliche Weihnachten!

on December 25, 2010

That is German for Merry Christmas!

So many small things to recount! I will just share a few before my husband and I head to his grandma’s house soon.

ST1: seeing Tangled with the sisters. I joined my three sisters-in-law at the fork and screen to see the Disney movie Tangled. It was so cute! I teared up a little at the end, but really, is that a surprise? When we came home I told me husband that the movie made me want to sing a duet with him while sitting in a boat with lanterns in the sky.

ST2: singing Christmas songs at Mass. My favorite is Joy to the World because for the past few years my brother and I would sing harmony to it and it just makes me smile. I wasn’t sitting next to him this year to do that, but just the thought was enough.

ST3: my grandma’s proud smile after going to Christmas Eve mass with her family. I hope that one day I will be able to have that same smile after going to mass with my children and grandchildren. There is something magical about that thought!

ST4: dancing to Rudolph. After opening presents at Jonathan’s Dad’s mom’s house (say that 7.5 times fast) the Temptations’ version of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer was put on and we all felt the Christmas dancin’ spirit. What a fun moment to experience. The best part, a red bow was placed on our 2-year-old cousin’s nose to complete the scene.

ST5: family pictures. I especially enjoyed this year because I get to include Jonathan in the family picture as my husband! It is so wonderful for it to be official now and to be experiencing our first Christmas together surrounded by the people who love us!

So now as I pack to spend another 3 days away from KC, my goal is to focus on the great things that have happened so far on my visit, and I know only more small things are to come.

What is one small thing that made you smile this Christmas? Share if you like!

3 responses to “Fröhliche Weihnachten!

  1. Grandma Kennedy says:

    Just wanted to let you see that we are using our new iPad and tell you that we enjoyed your blog. we are both taking it easy today so glad you were with us yesterday. Love ya, Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. kirk says:

    why is it every time i read your blog a tear comes to my eye i love you

    Like

  3. mom says:

    the last comment was from me not kirk

    Like

Leave a comment

