small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

still snowy

on January 12, 2011

Hello lovely people. I am writing to you after a crazy crazy Tuesday. We were without power from noon yesterday until around 7am this morning. I couldn’t get my car out of the garage because it is an automatic door opener and we don’t have another way of getting in the garage. So I didn’t have a way to get to work (since I can’t drive Jonathan’s manual car and the school is 30 minutes away). Our redbox DVD was due yesterday but I had left it in the DVD player…no power, no DVD. Yesterday I learned that I am very dependent on electricity! In the stress of the day I of course was stressed, but looking back, there were many small things to celebrate.

ST1: Watching my husband in his element. Jonathan rescued me from the cold apartment and let me spend the day in his lab. I watched him transfer liquids (which probably have a more technical name) to viles and run machines and talk chemical jargon with his labmates. I also learned a lot about his candidacy exam which will be next month and how all the work he has been doing in the past 2.5 years will be incorporated. I didn’t learn much science yesterday, but I did learn that my husband is really smart and is doing some pretty incredible things. Please pray for him and his labmates that they may have the wisdom and courage to perform well on their exams in the next few weeks!

ST2: beating two boys at beach volleyball on PS3. That’s all on that one.

ST3: Spending the evening at a friend’s house watching my husband and his friend play video games while I read my book. What a truly relaxing way to have carefree timelessness.

ST3.5: I love the book I am reading, The Help by Kathryn Stockett. It is about African American maids in the 1960s. Definitely worth your time.

ST4: GOODREADS! I just joined the Goodreads Reading Challenge 2011. This website is basically social-networking through books. You have an account and you can have virtual bookshelves of the books you have read, are reading, and want to read. You can also read and write reviews of books and see what your friends are reading. The reading challenge is where you set your own goal for how many books you want to read this year. I am really excited because this is a great motivator for me to read more. I suggest you set up an account right now and be my friend!  www.goodreads.com

ST5: night prayer. My husband and I have been working on better ways for us to pray together. This is always difficult because prayer is such an intimate thing. Over break I was fortunate to meet up with two friends at Chipotle (LOVE it) and discuss this dilemma. One of those friends is a nun in the order Servants of the Lord in Brooklyn NY. Check them out at this website. Anyway, she suggested my husband and I pray Night Prayer each night, which is the same prayer all religious orders and priests pray everyday. How cool is that? So we’ve been doing this for the past few nights and it has been a.w.e.s.o.m.e. Here is what today’s night prayer looks like.

Introduction
O God, come to my aid.
O Lord, make haste to help me.
Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit,
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be,
world without end.
Amen. Alleluia.

This is an excellent moment for an examination of conscience. In a communal celebration of Compline, one of the penitential acts given in the Missal may be recited.


Hymn
Now that the daylight dies away,
By all thy grace and love,
Thee, Maker of the world, we pray
To watch our bed above.
Let dreams depart and phantoms fly,
The offspring of the night,
Keep us, like shrines, beneath thine eye,
Pure in our foe’s despite.
This grace on thy redeemed confer,
Father, co-equal Son,
And Holy Ghost, the Comforter,
Eternal Three in One.

Psalm 30 (31)
Trustful prayer in time of adversity
O God, be my protector and my refuge.
In you, Lord, I put my trust: may I never be put to shame.
In your justice, set me free,
Turn your ear to me,
make haste to rescue me.
Be my rampart, my fortification;
keep me safe.
For you are my strength and my refuge:
you will lead me out to the pastures,
for your own name’s sake.
You will lead me out of the trap that they laid for me –
for you are my strength.
Into your hands I commend my spirit:
you have redeemed me, Lord God of truth.
Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit,
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be,
world without end.
Amen.
O God, be my protector and my refuge.

Psalm 129 (130)
Out of the depths
Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord.
Out of the depths I have cried to you, Lord:
Lord, hear my voice.
Let your ears listen out
for the voice of my pleading.
If you took notice of our transgressions, Lord –
Lord, who would be left?
But with you is forgiveness,
and for this we revere you.
I rely on you, Lord,
my spirit relies on your promise;
my soul hopes in the Lord,
more than the watchman for daybreak.
More than the watchman for daybreak,
let Israel hope in the Lord:
for with the Lord there is kindness
and abundant redemption.
He himself will redeem Israel
from all its transgressions.
Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit,
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be,
world without end.
Amen.
Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord.

Reading Ephesians 4:26-27 ©
Even if you are angry, you must not sin: never let the sun set on your anger, or else you will give the devil a foothold.

Short Responsory
Into your hands, Lord, I commend my spirit.
– Into your hands, Lord, I commend my spirit.
You have redeemed us, Lord, God of faithfulness.
– Into your hands, Lord, I commend my spirit.
Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.
– Into your hands, Lord, I commend my spirit.

Canticle Nunc Dimittis
Keep us safe, Lord, while we are awake, and guard us as we sleep, so that we can keep watch with Christ and rest in peace.
Now, Master, you let your servant go in peace.
You have fulfilled your promise.
My own eyes have seen your salvation,
which you have prepared in the sight of all peoples.
A light to bring the Gentiles from darkness;
the glory of your people Israel.
Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit,
as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be,
world without end.
Amen.
Keep us safe, Lord, while we are awake, and guard us as we sleep, so that we can keep watch with Christ and rest in peace.

Let us pray.
Lord Jesus Christ, you lay a gentle yoke upon those who follow you. Meek and humble, you give them a light burden to carry. Receive the work and the prayers we have offered to you today; and give us rest, to make us more eager to serve you, who live and reign for ever and ever, Amen.

May the almighty Lord grant us a quiet night and a perfect end.
AMEN

You can get them on this site for each day, or you can buy the Liturgy of the Hours book here which has all the daily prayers the brothers, sisters, and priests pray daily. It’s grrreat.

I think that is all I wanted to share today. I hope all is well with you. Please share a story of when you had to deal with a power outage…those are always fun to share! Comments—go!

2 responses to “still snowy

  1. Kathy says:

    Hi, Kari. The next time your dad is visiting, you need to ask Kevin to show you where the bypass button, lever, or whatever your automatic garage door opener has. Once you release it, voila the garage door can now be manually opened. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying The Help. I read it over a year ago. I enjoyed it so much because it was from my time and era. I loved the cultural references, i.e. Tarreyton cigarettes (I had long forgotten that brand,) and the clothing descriptions. I did not live in the south, nor did I have “help,” but I became active in the Young Democrats because of the pending Civil Rights legislation that LBJ fiinally passed along with his Great Society achievements. The book became such a good friend that I did not want it to end, I wanted to hang on to some of the characters. I saved the last fifty pages until my “winter break” and finally realized I had to finish the book. I’ll be interested to hear from someone your age about how the book impacted you. Obviously, this is ancient history to you and something, thank goodness, that you’ll never see. Sometime ask me about D’Angelos Pizza on Minnesota Avenue. That was my first face to face encounter with racism. Austin said he went to a party at your mom’s house and was able to see her beautiful new bathroom. (He worked at our building today.)

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Kathy,

      You’re right, the release lever would have been very handy, if we could have gotten into the garage. But since our garage is not attached to our apartment, there isn’t another door to get in, so we couldn’t get in the garage to pull that release. Oh the woes of apartment life!

      The book has been really eye opening for me because I can’t really imagine a world that was so set on race difference. To me a lot of the things they say and do sound ridiculous, but that is because I’ve been taught that we should treat all races with the same dignity and respect. I wonder what I would have been like if I were raised in that time, in the south. I would hope I would be like Miss Skeeter!

      Thanks for your comment!!

      Like

Leave a comment

