small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

eat pancakes you should

on January 23, 2011

I’ve been meaning to post almost every day this week, but I was sick for a few days and then working, so time slipped away from me unintentionally. But now I’m here and ready to share a few of the small things from this past week.

ST1: playing Monopoly Deal for a combination of at least 7 hours since Tuesday. Pretty sure that is my new favorite game. Thanks to those of you who introduced us to this fun game. It is like the game Monopoly but with cards, and the games are usually less than 30 minutes, which is probably why I like it so much. You should play.

ST2: The last chord in the “Amen” song during Mass today. It was heavenly.

ST3: making pancakes with character. We had friends over after church this morning for breakfast and I decided to be a little creative. For a wedding shower my cousin got us some pancake molds, and I thought this would be a perfect time you use them. I didn’t really read the directions well, so I overfilled the first two, which made me worried that I might have cooked the molds into the pancakes…anyway, here are the pictures to show our pancake FAIL. Great they still tasted.

ST4: nights in with the husband. Reading, drinking tea, folding laundry, doing dishes. This was our Saturday night. Most people would say that is a boring way to spend a perfectly good Saturday night. But to us, it wasn’t boring. It was time spent with each other and that made our Saturday night perfectly good.

ST5: THE SUN! After many days, possibly weeks in the perma-cloud of snow, borderlining seasonal depression for some, the sun appeared! Even though it was only 10 degrees this morning, when the sun hit my face felt like I was in the tropics. The snow with the sun’s reflection was glitter covering the ground. So beautiful. I hope the sun decides to come out of hiding for a while.

ST6: Pirate’s Cove. OK. I know I have mentioned this game about millions of times, but I have to once more. We played twice this weekend and I still just love it. If you’re a game lover, this is another one to add to your list. Here is a picture of all the treasure and booty right before we started playing today. It is also best paired with the Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack, and possibly watching one of the movies before playing, to best get you in the pirate mindset. Yo, ho, yo, ho, a pirate’s life for me!

 

ST7: an unexpected apology. I was a sub for middle school science on Friday and during one of the classes I noticed some kids passing around a wad of paper. At first I just watched to see what they were doing and they were just being obnoxious passing the paper around. I then went over and seized the object and simply walked away. At the end of the day two of the students from that table came back and apologized on the behalf of their table for having the wad of paper and being distracting. WOW. I might be OK with hanging out with these kids πŸ™‚

Ok, friends. I shall go. Jonathan is almost finished working on his paper for tonight, so we get to go play a game. πŸ™‚

What is YOUR favorite game to play? Any you suggest Jonathan and I try?

 

3 responses to “eat pancakes you should

  1. Keith says:

    My friend Alisha got Catan and we have played it several times, but you already like that game so disregard everything I just said. Those pancake molds looks pretty sweet!

    Like

  2. Emily says:

    Loaded questions. You can’t really play it with a group any smaller than 5, but it is epic. Ask Jonathan…one time when we all went to IA for the KU v. IA State game, he got to experience it with my family…which was a treat in itself, I’m sure. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Brook says:

    We played a lot of double solitaire this weekend and it was fun! I love card games most…spades and pitch are two faves for sure. Hope the sun shined on you today!! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment

