small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

the wonderful world of disney

on January 31, 2011

This is a post about my Disney endeavors this past week. I expect you Disney movie lovers out there to comment!

ST1: Dick Van Dyke talking to me through the TV. That’s right, the one man band from Mary Poppins is talking to me, right now! I forgot how much I love he and Julie Andrews together. Did you know that that movie won 5 Oscars in 1964? Well done!

ST2: Bonus material. I have never had much time to spend watching hours of deleted scenes and directors commentary, but last week I had a few days off so I spent some time reliving my childhood watching animated Disney movies. The ones I’ve watched so far in the past week: Cinderella, Bambi, Robin Hood, Beauty and the Beast, Snow White, Enchanted, and now Mary Poppins. After watching each one I’d spend some time watching the ‘making of’ special features. I learned so much about history through Disney movies! My favorite was listening to how they incorporated music into each movie, especially how the writers came up with their amazing songs. I’ve decided that Alan Menken is my new Favorite Person That I’ve Never Met.

ST3: As I was badly singing along to a song for fun while watching Bambi, my husband decided it would be funny to throw things at me, two sponges, paper, and other harmless items. I was laughing so hard as I dodged the ‘rotten tomatoes’ for my singing. We have strange fun most of the time.

ST4: A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes. This song is beautiful, and I think I fast forwarded through it when I was little because it was a “boring” part. Did you ever do that? Anyway, I have fallen in love with this song and its lyrics. Enjoy.

A dream is a wish your heart makes
When you’re fast asleep
In dreams you lose your heartaches
Whatever you wish for, you keep
Have faith in your dreams and someday
Your rainbow will come smiling thru
No matter how your heart is grieving
If you keep on believing
the dream that you wish will come true

 

Here is my top 10 list of animated Disney movies. The order is really adjustable since it’s hard to decide which one is better than the other. sigh.

1. Sleeping Beauty
2. Beauty and the Beast
3. Mulan
4. Aladdin
5. The Little Mermaid
6. Mary Poppins
7. Robin Hood
8. Enchanted
9. Cinderella
10. Hercules

The Lion King, Tarzan, The Princess and the Frog, and really all the rest get honorable mentions, because I really love them all. Except Bambi. That one is just SAD, and a little boring. The music is good though. ANYWAY…

If you were only allowed to own 5 animated Disney movies, which ones would you own?
OR
Which ones do you think I should have on my list that I *gasp* didn’t even mention?

Bundle up and get some food, the BLIZZARD is coming! And I’m not talking about a yummy dessert from Dairy Queen 😉

4 responses to “the wonderful world of disney

  1. Bernadette Kaplan says:

    I have many fond memories of playing Cinderella with a certain preschooler!! Bippity Boppity Boo!

    Like

  2. Bernadette Kaplan says:

    I was never a big fan of The Little Mermaid because of the underlying messages it taught young girls. Abigail recently found this video and it reminded her of her crazy mom who always complained about the Little Mermaid’s lack of virtue! I thought you might enjoy it. Haha!

    Like

  3. Jeyne says:

    I love some of the older movies, not jus the cartoon movies –

    Bedknobs and Broomsticks
    The Love Bug
    The Absent Minded Professor
    The Computer That Wore Tennis Shoes
    The Apple Dumpling Gang
    and Pete’s Dragon

    My favorite pixar movie is CARS…can’t wait until June when Cars 2 comes to theatres.

    What is your favorite pixar?

    Like

  4. Emily says:

    Beauty and the Beast is, hands down, the BEST. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

