small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

back to basics

on February 3, 2011

I’ve been having a hard time getting motivated to blog for the past few weeks. I’ve been working more so I haven’t had as much time to sit down and write. I also have been a little uncertain if this blog is worth doing. That is when it hit me that I need to reevaluate what is going on. I read on a blog I follow that in order to be a successful blogger you need to remember that you blog because you love to write. It is easy to think that the blog’s value comes from the number of hits and comments each post receives. But that is not the true value. I should blog because I love sharing my life with people who choose to read, not because I want hundreds of visitors and comments. So here it is, my ‘back to basics’ idea.

Now each post will include just one small thing from that day. I want to be able to share in detail how that one moment brought joy to my day, whether serious or just plain ridiculous. Of course if I decide more than one is worth sharing it will be shared, creative license, of course. I just don’t want to get overwhelmed with trying to prove that each day has many small moments and if I don’t get more than 5 it was unsuccessful. It is quality not quantity.

This was inspired by a workout video I started watching/doing today. It is The Biggest Loser CardioMax DVD. Most workout DVDs are not very inspiring and actually make you wonder why you’re moving around ridiculously in your t-shirt and shorts while watching perfectly sculpted people with water splashed on them to look like they’ve been sweating. After reading many comments on Amazon.com about this video I decided to try it out. I found myself laughing and actually enjoying having someone inflict torture on my poor sedentary body. Not only were the people in the video normal, I found it most encouraging. The instructor was constantly saying that if you can’t do the move, or can’t hold the weights, or just feel like its too much, it’s ok. Do what you can and at least you’re moving. At least I’m moving. He’s right! One small step, the basic part in any workout, and I was doing it. I didn’t feel defeated because I hadn’t worked out in I don’t know how long and I was barely breathing after attempting some crazy move. I felt that I was going forward, and now I want to keep going, keep doing the workouts, and eventually I could get back to where I was a year ago. Going to the gym, doing my own workouts, and eating better. It is possible, but I had to get back to basics.

So here I am doing the same thing with my blog. I hope that you all continue to read and respond and share the small things in your life with me and with others. Here’s to getting back to basics!

P.S. To answer a comment from my last post, my favorite Disney/Pixar movie is definitely Toy Story.

P.P.S. Is there something you want to simplify in your life? How are you going to do it? ๐Ÿ™‚

9 responses to “back to basics

  1. Jeyne says:

    If you stop this blog I will hunt you down and well let’s start with the hunt down part first…I love getting an email saying you have written something on your blog. It keeps me in touch with you and your life. The Inman cousins are all getting older and lives are getting busier, we need this to keep in contact with each other. We have such a great bond as a family and being apart from each other makes keeping up with lives more difficult. I know I sometimes don’t have the 30 minutes to call and catch up. Our family blog is away for that, but sometimes it is lacking, yes even me. My goal is to get back on task of writting something each week to let the family know how life is doing – my wish for the Inman cousins is the same…we need that lifeline

    Like

  2. Jeyne says:

    In response to P.P.S. – Jameson and I are becoming debt free, that is how we are simplifing our life. Debt causes so much stress, tension, pain and suffering…who needs that. We have put together a budget that will get us debt free by the end of 2012, we are not including mortgage or car loans, those will take a little longer to pay off. (actually both our cars would be paid off next year, but we are looking to trade in for a more snow reliable all wheel drive car and the other would be our daily use car with a better highway gas mileage) Debt Free = Simplified Life

    Like

    • Kari says:

      That is awesome! Our next step is to put together a budget like that. We have many friends who are Dave Ramsey fans who are helping us get a start on losing the debt. If only we didn’t have such big school loans!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Anne O'Brien says:

    Please don’t stop blogging! I love reading it! Anne O’B

    Like

  4. Emily says:

    Keep going! You can do it!

    I’ll encourage you like Bob. I think he is the one in the cardiomax DVD, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. EWob says:

    Please don’tt stop. i feel connected to you even with the distance. and you are a great writer. ๐Ÿ™‚ love u.

    Like

  6. Grandma Kennedy says:

    I always read your blog, just don’t always respond. Be assured I do enjoy hearing about what you are thinking about. Your snow pictures look just like the scenes here in Lenexa. We are watching the ND basketball game as I write.

    Like

Leave a comment

