small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

honorable mention

on February 4, 2011

Today’s Small Thing:

Today I was mentioned in two blogs that I follow. WOAH!

The first is a blog for a boy with cancer from Overland Park whose mom is asking for people around the world to send him Valentine cards so he can track where they come from on a map. I sent him one and it showed up in a picture on the blog. Yay! It is so cool to be a part of something so small, yet so big for him! Check out his blog here.

The second mention is from an old friend whom I played softball with in high school. She shared some advice I gave her and it just melted my heart to hear how much it meant to her. It showed me again that something seeming so small can be SO BIG. Here are the Bible verses I sent her which are probably my favs!

“Rejoice in hope, be patient in suffering, persevere through prayer.” Romans 12:12

“For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

“My child, when you come to serve the Lord, prepare yourself for testing. Set your heart right and be steadfast, and do not be impetuous in time of calamity. Cling to him and do not depart, so that your last days m be prosperous. Accept whatever befalls you, and in times of humiliation be patient. For gold is tested in fire, and those found acceptable, in the furnace of humiliation. Trust in him, and he will help you; make your ways straight and hope in him.” Sirach 2: 1-6

So as I get ready to go have drinks with some friends to celebrate one of my husband’s lab mate’s passing his candidacy exam, I will be looking for more small things that can become big.

What is something small that turned big in your life? A card? A smile? 🙂

2 responses to “honorable mention

  1. Kathy says:

    Kari, God bless you. It is wonderful that you sent a Valentine to Mason. Right before Christmas, we went to the K-State UNLV bb game and visited with the Gerlach family (they are huge K-State supporters, Carl used to play basketball for the Wildcats.) I taught their youngest daughter in second grade and she is now a senior at SM South. They were asking about different families here at school and I mentioned Mason and his blog. Anyway, I didn’t know it, but Carl (he is the Mayor of OP) had a huge Valentine card at City Hall for everyone to sign. They said when they deliver the Valentine, they will take Mason for a ride on a snow plow and that happened today. Sometimes, just a small comment to a friend can have huge ripple effects. They are a wonderful family and are appreciative of all the support from both our school and the community, but they are really the ones who are giving so much to all of us. I’m sure everyone who reads the blog is touched by their journey. They are a great family and very strong in their support of one another. Take care and tell your hubby that I said, “Hello.” — Kathy

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Thanks for sharing that about Mason! That is so awesome. I have just loved following his story and hearing about the joy that family is seeing even in such a difficult time. I’ll tell Jonathan you say hello!

      Like

Leave a comment

