small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

everything’s gonna be alright

on February 6, 2011

The small thing for today actually occurred yesterday amidst one of my weaker moments. I was emotional over having to make some difficult decisions about travel in the future, so of course the waterworks started to go in overdrive. As I tried to avoid making eye-contact with my husband in my embarrassment he just took my arm and folded me into his embrace. Not a word was said for a few minutes as I let the tears stream down my face and make a home on his cotton shirt. Time seemed to stop and I forgot why I was crying. A rush of calm came over me and it was no longer about how sad I was…it is about the fact that I am not alone in this.

I’m still working through the hard decisions, but it isn’t nearly as hard. Especially when he whispered, “It is going to be ok.”

Reflecting on this event today is both romantic and a little funny. I was reminded of a scene from the movie The Wedding Singer which sums up this whole blog post. I need to be happy I have someone to hold me and tell me everything is going to be alright. And be happy its not a drunk 80 year old stranger. πŸ˜‰

Who is a person for you that can tell you everything is going to be alright? Are you that person for someone else?

Much love!!

7 responses to “everything’s gonna be alright

  1. Grandma Kennedy says:

    Kari, you made me want to cry too. Can we help? If there is anything we can do just ask. Love you, Grandma

    Like

  2. Keith says:

    I really like how you brought The Wedding Singer into this! That part is so great! Remember, you are still my sister and I love you no matter what you make it to this year!

    Like

  3. Courtney says:

    Love that you could open up and share such a vulnerable moment. Very touching. As for your question… My mom is the one I can always count on. She is my rock, my go-to person. When I am having a bad day, she can calm me down, talk me through it, and finally make me believe that everything will be alright.

    Love to you both!!!

    Like

  4. Being far away from home is always hard. Much harder than anyone might think. Sometimes the only way to survive that yearning is to realize how blessed you are to have a place and people to miss.

    Just today I was reading a journal my grandmother wrote back in 1987. She even mentions me calling her to talk on her 89th birthday and how I was doing as a young mother. She died at 104 years old in 1999 but I still miss her so much that it hurts. I just try to stay in that moment and feel the hurt; to acknowledge that I miss her; not to be brave and say it’s OK; it’s not and it’s not fair. It passes.

    And then I’m able to re-focus and rejoice in the fact that I had someone who loved me that much. That I can read her words and still hear her voice in my heart. I can be touched by her and feel her presence. I am able to find a way to turn my heartache into honoring her and the love we shared. I am a lucky, lucky person to have had that.

    And, on a much lighter note, I need to stop crying when I read her journal because it’s written in a fountain pen ink and my tears make the writing run!!!! That’s gotta make a person smile through it all.

    Hang in there my friend. I’m so delighted you have a husband who gets exactly what to do to comfort you….it is a gift you are giving him to share your tears and see your heart. That’s special so don’t be embarrassed.

    Be of good cheer.

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Thank you, Marsha. Those words were exactly what I needed to hear. You’re right, it is a lot harder being away from home than some people realize. And you are right again saying that it is a blessing to know you have people who love you that you miss and want to spend time with. I just love what you wrote about your grandmother. What a special relationship you still get to have with her because of the journal. Amazing!

      Thanks again for your comment!

      Like

  5. Emily says:

    πŸ™‚

    I know those moments like this of which you speak. And they are the best and worst at the same time. πŸ™‚

    Lately, this song has been speaking to me. http://www.francescamusic.com/
    Go within her site (after the splash page…scroll down to the bottom to find the link) and it should play her most recent song “This is the stuff.” I’m not sure if this is exactly relevant, but I know in moments similar to these, this song reminds me, well, how big I’m blessed. πŸ™‚

    Love you guys.

    Like

Leave a comment

