small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

just wing it

on March 10, 2011

A small thing from Wednesday: successful improvising


Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent. This day marks the beginning of 40 days of prayer, fasting, and almsgiving (giving to the less fortunate) in preparation for the death and resurrection of Jesus.

I love this season because it always comes at the time I need it most. Lent allows me the chance to re-evaluate things in my life so I can make them better. It is easy to let the little things pile up, but Lent is a good kick in the pants to actually do something about those things!

Yes, I’m getting to the point.

Last night during Mass was my debut playing the flute. I had not played my flute by myself in front of people in YEARS so I was a little nervous, especially since just a week ago I could barely sqeak out some high notes!

I showed up 30 minutes early to practice the song with the music director when she hands me a new piece to play right as I say hello. What?? I had less than 30 minutes to learn this piece and play it? This could have set off a major panic attack…

Thats when I somehow stopped the panic from rising and gave myself a pep talk. It went something like this:

“You can do this. It doesn’t have to be perfect; no one expects you to be perfect. You are using you talents for God, not to impress these people. Play your best and trust that it will be good enough.”

And really, thats all I needed to hear. I didn’t really look at the second piece or have time to practice, so I relied on my sight reading skills. My director has some faith in me I guess! In the end I played both pieces well enough. And because I wasn’t freaking out I really enjoyed it!

And the cool thing is that I was practing just what Ash Wednesday and Lent is all about: die to self to begin new life with Christ.

I let go of ME and my expectations and let Christ be my guide. Worked well this time, but can I keep it up? :/

When have you had to “wing it”? How did it turn out?

One response to “just wing it

  1. Keith says:

    I’m so glad you played your flute. I would have been terrified. I’m also sad I didn’t get to hear it. I pretty much wing it on every presentation I have given in college. The preparation stresses me out and I would end up not saying what I practiced so I gave up rehearsing and decided I am good an winging it.

    Like

Leave a comment

