small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

batter up

on March 29, 2011

Small thing for today: Putting on my powder blue cleats


It’s softball season again! I am on the chemical engineering grad school team and we had our first game today. It was a little chilly but sunny and windy enough to make my face a nice shade of pink.

The field: all grass with a portable backstop marked with a few white lines and very puffy bases.

The players: mostly graduate students and a few faculty and staff (that’s me!) Most of whom are male and have the desire to fulfill any leftover dreams they didn’t reach while playing little league.

The equipment: my trusty Mizuno glove, my beautiful powder blue cleats, and my game face.

The game: well, it was fun…until the 2nd inning where we got hammered so bad. I think they went through their line-up 3 times. We only played 3 innings thanks to the mercy rule.

The statistics: our team scored 4 runs to their 30 some. We definitely got our dose of humility for the week.Β We had numerous errors, but we did complete 9 outs in our 3 innings. And I accounted for 2 of them, thanks to two line drives right to my glove.

So even though the game didn’t end up in our favor, I know we’ll make many adjustments come next week. I’m just happy I got to break out my cleats. Game on.

What is your favorite pair of shoes? I love my powder blue cleats!!

11 responses to “batter up

  1. Keith says:

    My favorite pair of shoes are the ones that I won on Facebook. They are so comfy.

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Those could be the coolest shoes ever. When you won those shoes it was like you won the whole world. Something like that.

      Like

  2. Laura V. says:

    Duh….my pink and brown Pumas! πŸ™‚

    That’s so awesome that ur playing on a softball team! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

    Like

  3. Bridget H says:

    Kari-
    How exciting that you get to play softball. I am a little jealous. I wish team YMGC was playing together again. Hope things are going well πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Dad says:

    Glad you are getting to play! Wish I could be there to coach! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    My favorite pair were my white and purple Nike tennis shoes that I wore for my wedding. The same shoes that Fred chewed up and destroyed! We are lucky we still have a dog.

    Like

  6. Shelley T says:

    That anonymous one was from me.

    Like

  7. Emily W says:

    Oh to be decisive enough to choose a favorite! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Victoria says:

    I’m a little jealous that I don’t get to be out there playing softball with you! Then I remember how bad I am at slow pitch and I get less jealous. When they start a fast pitch team, sign me up.

    I have a pair of gold high heel strappy shoes that were my first real designer (read: I spent way too much money on these) shoes I ever bought. They’re awesome even though I rarely wear them.

    Like

  9. jepete says:

    Ahhh, softball sounds fabulous right about now!

    Like

Leave a comment

