small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

a recap

on April 3, 2011

Today’s small things: lots of things

I’ve been very busy in the past week so I apologize for not posting since Tuesday! Therefore, I am going back to my old style of posts for today to give you a recap of the small things I have encountered in the past few days.

ST1: toilet paper fight. As I was replenishing the supply of toilet paper to our bathrooms I decided to sneak attack Jonathan with a few rolls. It was awesome until he had 3 rolls in his possession to my zero. Thus I ran into a bathroom, closed the door in hopes he would not fire again. Unfortunately he opened the door and pelted me in the head. Thankfully it was Charmin ultra-soft.

ST2: random shouting. As Jonathan was playing his video game he yelled “I AM INCREDIBLE!” I love his enthusiasm for the virtual world.

ST3: outlet malls. The creator of 40% off of already clearance prices deserves some kind of medal. Or at least an all expense paid trip to Hawaii. They are clearly thinking of the budgeters of the world and I salute them.

ST4: perpetual Christmas. We drove by an apartment complex tonight and I noticed a Christmas tree still up in someone’s apartment. Either they are really lazy or don’t ever want the Christmas spirit to fade.

ST5: light-up Easter bunnies. The extreme decorators are out in full force again, this time it’s for Easter. The jury is still out on my feelings about this concept, but they sure were cute bunnies. Maybe they could hang on the Christmas tree and we’d have the two major Christian holidays covered year round.

ST6: baby steps. I have seen two babies take some of their first steps in the past few weeks and it is so beautiful. I have a sense of pride when I see my friends’ babies grow up. I don’t know if this is normal, but I think it shows how much I love my friends, and of course their children. My birthday buddy took his first few steps last week, and today through video chat I was able to see a dear friend’s little one wander towards me! (I guess towards the computer, but I’ll take what I can get!)

ST7: Showing my true grit. We saw the new True Grit movie tonight and it was fairly enjoyable, especially since we only paid $1.50 per ticket! (I love dollar theaters). Anyway, after the movie Jonathan said he likes women who drink whiskey. Thinking there was no way he’d make me drink whiskey in the near future I said that I drink it. Well he goes straight for the cabinet and pulls out a bottle of whiskey, pours each of us a taste and made me live up to my statement. Whoo. I don’t know if I’d survive the wild west.

ST8: texting wedding advice. My mom went to a shower for a friend who is getting married in June, and I couldn’t attend the shower (which of course I’m bummed about). My mom is awesome and she texted me about one of the shower games so I could be a part of it. How thoughtful! I love technology. It really makes me feel connected to the people I moved away from.

There were many other small things this week, but these were the highlights. It really was a great week!

What was one of YOUR small things from this past week? Please share!

One response to “a recap

  1. Small thing I love of the day – hearing from you! What fun! I have such fond memories of our student teaching days, dear Kari! And our weekly trips to lunch after seminar! I actually hosted a student teacher for the second time last fall and she is my maternity leave sub this semester! I can’t wait to start following your blog!

    Like

Leave a comment

