small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

you’ve got mail

on April 11, 2011

Today’s small thing: lots of snail mail!

I love checking the mail. It has always been my job to get the mail ever since I moved out of the parents’ house. I guess I love the feeling of anticipation as I slowly open the mailbox door. Could there be something in there besides a bill? Maybe a personal letter instead of junk mail? Most of the time I’m disappointed, but for some reason I make sure I am the one returning back the next day. My former roommate for the past 4 years knows this very well. πŸ˜‰

Today was no different. I walked to the mailboxes on my way to tutoring and after saying hello to a neighbor I anxiously opened the door. Things were falling out! I have never seen the mailbox that full…and it’s a small compartment. The best part…most of them were addressed to me, MY name, and handwritten. YES!

A few were wedding invitations (which I’m so excited to receive) and the rest were birthday cards…a day early! Woohoo. I wish I could have taken a picture of my face as I walked to my care. Pure elation.

Who knew love could come in a mailbox?

Here is a photo shout-out to those who’s cards arrived today. They’re all so great so I had to share. Thank you!

A card I can't open till tomorrow, retro Lisa Frank stationary, and a sparkly card

little girls eating cake, a princess rapunzel card, hilarious card from the in-laws, and a beautifully written card from my grandparents

Isn't this awesome! Hardcore handmade card πŸ™‚

When was the last time you were super excited to get the mail??

5 responses to “you’ve got mail

  1. Bridget H says:

    I also enjoy getting the mail and like you and generally disappointed because all we get is junk mail and bills. I am glad your mailbox was full of birthday wishes. I hope you have a great day tomorrow!!

    p.s. I hope you enjoyed the retro stationary!!

    Bridget

    Like

  2. Grandma Kennedy says:

    Hope you have a great day!!! We are celebrating my 80th birthday in Branson MO. Today (the gift from your parents and siblings) the trip was good, the weather is great and we are enjoying the shows!!,

    Like

  3. Emily says:

    Happy Birthday, Mrs. Jonathan!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Emily says:

    P.S. That Lisa Frank card is epic. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Emily says:

    P.P.S. I, too, LOOOOOVE to get the mail. It is often the highlight of my day. That is, if there is something OTHER than a bill in there. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment

