small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

a bench warmer

on April 13, 2011

Another small thing for today: park benches


After enjoying a relaxing birthday yesterday, I thought it would be nice to continue the theme of relaxation by enjoying the beautiful spring weather outside. So I packed my backpack with my journal, camera, a good book, and a bottle of water and set out to campus. I went to mass at the basilica which is always a treat, followed by lunch with the hubby at a yummy restaurant on campus. Once I left him to get back to curing cancer I decided to find a nice quiet place to catch some rays and feel the breeze.

I started noticing that there were benches everywhere, just waiting for me to pick one of them to be my companion for a while. I wandered toward the golden dome, which is always a beautiful sight. Plus it is right by the statue of Jesus which we like to call ‘Jump Mom’ Jesus, since his hands are raised like he is ready to catch his Mom, who is atop the golden dome right above.

It was peaceful. It was relaxing. It was me loving spring. It was wonderful.

I’d like to thank my park bench friend for providing a great spot for nice afternoon relaxation.

Where do you like to go to relax?

 

posts you may have missed:

anniversary of my birth

You’ve Got Mail, Part Deux


One response to “a bench warmer

  1. jepete says:

    Hi Kari,

    I was definitely thinking of you on your birthday although my macbook has been at the Apple store not once but TWICE in the past week and unless I’m at work or at my parent’s house I haven’t been able to do much internet stuff. Anyway, thanks for thinking of me and I can’t wait to share with you all the excitement in the next few weeks!

    Happy Birthday old friend!

    Jody

    Like

Leave a comment

