small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

carefree timelessness

on April 30, 2011

Today’s small thing: carefree timelessness

This is a phrase I learned from the beautiful Italian nuns from The Apostles of the Interior Life in Kansas City. In my time getting to know these holy women I learned many things about living life, but the most important thing I feel was about actually appreciating the moments you’re currently in, the NOW.

Carefree timelessness is living in the moment, not worrying about the past, or the future, or how much time is passing. It’s enjoying what you are doing and being fully present to it.

That is what we did yesterday. All day. And it was GLORIOUS.

My awesome friend Laura is here visiting this weekend so we have been trying to master the art of carefree timelessness. Yesterday we walked all over campus and took in what spring has to offer.

The flowers by St. Mary’s lake

even more as we wandered toward the grotto

and as we approach the grotto we saw amazing blossoms

the stunning path to the Our Lady of Lourdes grotto-one of my favorite places on campus

we then sat for an hour or so underneath the statue of Jesus

just talking, people watching, and admiring God’s creation.

After our time on campus we decided to meet up with Maureen and Luke for a few miles of walking around town. Eventually we ended up getting some coffee and cookies and chatting the afternoon away.

We also enjoyed watching the adorable Luke experience his own version of carefree timelessness.

It was the perfect day. I thank the Apostles of the Interior Life for being with us in spirit reminding us to appreciate each moment with our full being. That really is the way we were meant to live.

What do you think about carefree timelessness? How do you try to do this in your life?

Thanks for reading! Remember, I love to read and respond to comments, and if you like getting updates from the blog, think about signing up for the email subscription so you instantly know when I’ve posted! (Located on the top right hand corner of the home page!)

Much love, Kari

One response to “carefree timelessness

  1. Keith says:

    I experienced this yesternight at my friend’s house. There were lots of people over and we were all sitting around a citronella candle and just chatting. It was about 3am when we realized we had been chatting all night. It was great.

    When I went on Koinonia, they talked about this but called it Holy Leisure-making time to spend with the ones you love. It has been VERY hard to do this while in college because I always feel that if I’m just sitting around, there is probably something I should be doing. I can’t wait until I don’t have that feeling anymore.

    Like

Leave a comment

