small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

day-cation

on May 2, 2011

The small thing for today: quality time

Laura gave me a wonderful gift as a belated birthday present: spending a whole day in Chicago with her. One of my love languages is quality time, and thats what was given to me! It was also very thoughtfully put together, as she had a folder dedicated to our excursion with maps and phone numbers.

We started the day with laziness watching some episodes of Dawson’s Creek and then she revealed the plan for the day. I was instructed to let go of control and just let the day unfold. She gave me clues to help me figure out we were driving to Chicago!

We enjoyed great conversation and entertaining music as we made the 2 hour trek to the Windy City. I was then given clues to help me guess where part one of our day would take place: The Art Institute!

We wandered the galleries in awe of the amazing and talented works that surrounded us. I saw some of my favorite pieces I didn’t even know were at that museum, so it was definitely a wonderful surprise.

After the museum we enjoyed some live musicians making some money banging buckets with drumsticks. They were pretty darn talented and it made me want to watch the movie Drumline. Dad, you would be proud of their skills. 


My next clues led us to enjoy some delicious deep dish pizza at Girodano’s. We probably could have eaten the whole pizza, but we enjoyed some appetizers too 🙂

The last part led us to see an improv comedy show at Comedy Sportz. I haven’t laughed that much, continuously, in a very long time. It was just what I needed, and it was accompanied by one of the best margaritas I’ve had in a long time.

Needless to say the day was full of fun, food, and great conversation. It was so refreshing to have someone here who has known me for so long and really showered me with love. It has been very difficult to be away from her, and all my friends and family, but this visit was a reminder that even though I’m far away, the love is still there.

I need to remember that more often.

So thank you, Laura, for an awesome day-cation and giving me some love, quality time style.

Have you had a day-cation before? Where would you go if you could have one right now? Please share in the comments!!

P.S. I have a prayer request. One of the students I tutor is in the hospital with kidney failure. I don’t know much about the situation and I’m worried about her. Please lift her up! Blessed John Paul II, pray for us!!

2 responses to “day-cation

  1. Brook says:

    Aww…this is awesome! Nice work, Laura! 🙂 Glad you two had some fun together!

    Like

  2. Angie says:

    I had Giordano’s pizza 16 years ago and I still remember how delicious it was! Sounds like a great day :]

    Like

Leave a comment

