small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

secret mission

on May 4, 2011

Today’s small thing: helping my husband with an experiment


I often stay home when Jonathan has to go back to the lab at night to check on experiments, but for some reason I decided to join him last night.

We ventured into the lab around 8pm and it was almost deserted. Some extremely dedicated people were still in mad scientist mode as we walked down the halls of basement level A. Yes, I do have to distinguish basement levels, since there are two of them. (crazy.)

My job was to sit down, read my book, and not touch anything. I was ok with that, since even if I wanted to help I would have no idea what to do. I barely remember chemistry class.

As he was taking some vials from under ‘the hood’ as he called it, he asked me if I wanted to go on a secret mission. Um, YES. Anything is better than sitting still!

So he gave me my orders: take the keys, go to lab A-58 and find the can of silicone spray. It is next to the old instrument they don’t use anymore in the lab where they keep the liquid nitrogen. Be careful, but return quickly.

Sounds dangerous. Liquid nitrogen, silicone spray, ancient instruments. I was excited!

So I carefully went to the lab and unlocked the door to see lots of abandoned furniture, boxes, and some large sciency instruments, some old, some new. And there it was, the odd looking, a little ominous old instrument. I walked closer and found the can. I grabbed it, slowly left the room and headed back to homebase. I was successful!

I then was able to help him with other sciencey things and capture my husband in his element.

I’m glad I didn’t stay home because I would have missed the chance to feel a little chemical engineer like, detective style.

When was the last time you helped someone? What’d you do? 


One response to “secret mission

  1. Anne O'Brien says:

    Love the KU sweatshirt!

    Like

Leave a comment

