small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

flying solo

on May 7, 2011

Today’s small thing: eating lunch solo

I like to do certain things by myself: listen to music, write, play piano, watch TV. But there are many things I don’t like to do alone: go to movies, eat a meal, go to a concert. The latter are things that are usually more enjoyable when accompanied by others. Mostly because I don’t like looking like I don’t have friends. Silly me.

Anyway, today I decided to take a walk on the dark side and go to Chipotle and eat there by myself. It was actually pretty liberating fighting the inner monologue that I’d look weird or that I’m so pathetic I don’t have anyone to join me. I proudly took my food out to the patio and ate my deliciousness while reading my book.

Turns out the book was the perfect companion today. The book is My Life with the Saints by James Martin, SJ. This book is sort of a memior of how this priest came to know of particular saints and how they helped him live a more full life.

Today I read about St. Thomas Aquinas, and I felt like he was right there teaching me about how faith and reason go hand in hand. How cool.

So my solitude today was not in vain, and maybe I’ll just try to do some more things alone in the future without feeling weird about it. 🙂

What is something you love to do by yourself? 

Leave a comment

