small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

jaw-dropping surprise

on June 9, 2011

One small thing from Saturday: surprising my sister-in-law

We have been fortunate that over the next two months we will have been able to see our families numerous times. This is not easy considering we live hundreds of miles away, and we’re not exactly rich. So most people understand that we can’t make it to everything, especially since we’re doing so much traveling already.

This is the case for my sister-in-law. Her bridal shower was on Saturday, and she assumed that since we’d be coming to the wedding in a month, we probably wouldn’t be traveling anytime before that. Little did she know her sister and I planned the shower for a weekend I’d be in town for a wedding. teehee.

So we conspired a plan. I sent the bride-to-be sister-in-law (how many hyphens can I use in one sentence…) a text on Saturday morning saying “Happy bridal shower day! I’m thinking of you!” hoping to throw her off my trail. I then arrived at the shower and I’m pretty sure she would have lost her jaw if it weren’t attached. She was so surprised and it was absolutely awesome. I think we both felt pretty loved at that moment.

I am so thankful for such wonderful in-laws. We had a blast and even in the short time I was there we got a beautiful sister picture to remember the surprise.

I am so excited for you, Becca, and I can’t wait for your wedding! Marriage is such a wonderful thing! 🙂

What is some advice you would give someone who is getting married soon? I would offer to make sure you find ways to love each other each and every day.

Leave a comment

