small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

oh my little strawberry

on June 12, 2011

Today’s small thing: finding the perfect strawberry.

What I have learned by living up north is that there are lots of places to pick fruits! And not just apples, but cherries, blueberries, and of course strawberries. Since I loved apple picking in the fall, we were invited to join some friends for an adventure of red fruity goodness proportions.

We set out to drive up to Michigan to a u-pick strawberry farm. It was just like I had imagined.

A cute little stand, rows and rows of strawberry bushes, vines, whatever they are called, and beautiful fluffy white clouds in the sky.

We were given a box and free reign over the berries.

Finding the perfect strawberries was more difficult that we had anticipated. I think others might have beat us and picked over many of them, but after much searching we began to be successful. Looking for the perfect strawberry was time consuming. Some looked great from one angle but on the other side it was green! Or some looked perfect from on top but were moldy or squished on the bottom. Of course none of them were perfect, but in my eyes this one was.

I couldn’t help but think that we are kind of like strawberries. Some good sides, some bad, but even with these imperfections, we’re still perfect in someone’s eyes.

We collected many berries and decided it was time to go home with our rubies.

We got 5 pounds of strawberries for $5. Awesome! Now I’m going to need some suggestions on how to use them all!

On our way home we stopped for a snack at a bar famous for its 200+ beers. But in keeping with our theme for the day I decided to have the strawberry margarita.

It was a beautiful day full of sun, fun, and strawberries.

If you could go pick a fruit today, what would you pick??

**bonus points for anyone who can name the movie from which I took this blog’s title. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “oh my little strawberry

  1. Brook says:

    That last pic is so cool, Kari! Very artistic! 🙂 Love ya!

    Like

  2. Keith says:

    Moulin rouge! I win! I even read it in his voice. “my little strawbree”. I want blueberries for raspberries.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Love the last picture of the strawberry close-up. One of my favorite things to do with strawberries is to put them in a spinach salad with pecans, feta cheese crumbles, red onion and poppy seed dressing. Another is to dip them in melted chocolate and make the ever delicious chocolate covered strawberry. Have fun! Anne

    Like

Leave a comment

