small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

say yes

on June 28, 2011

Today’s small thing: indulging in the guilty pleasure that is Say Yes to the Dress.

This is the dress I said 'Yes' to 🙂

Jonathan and I made the tough decision not to get cable at our apartment. First of all it is saving us lots of money, but it also is preventing me from spending hours and hours watching TV. I have found that I don’t miss having cable until I am somewhere where cable is present, and I swoon.

My friend Victoria and I spent this afternoon watching lots and lots of Say Yes to the Dress (and Toddlers and Tiaras…). Victoria defended for her PhD last week, so now the Dr has plenty of time to spend hanging out with me this summer!

She is getting married in less than a month, so we had lots of fun discussing wedding things and being just a little bit girly. Of course it made me want to relive it all!

I loved it.

I still get giddy when I think about weddings, especially mine. I can’t stop looking at pictures from it, thinking about the many special moments, and marveling about how much I love my husband.

I finally tore myself away from the tv and the girlyness back to the cable-less apartment.

At least we have Netflix.

What is your guilty pleasure TV show?

P.S. Now you can leave comments using your facebook, twitter, or wordpress accounts. YES!

6 responses to “say yes

  1. jess morgan says:

    crazy that you bring up “the dress” …jon and i just made a big decision. To convert my wedding gown into an heirloom baptism gown! yes, it will get cut up, but the sacramental symbolism is too rich to resist and my girls probably wouldn’t fit/want my gown anyway!

    Like

  2. jess morgan says:

    crazy that you bring up “the dress” …jon and i just made a big decision. To convert my wedding gown into an heirloom baptism gown! yes, it will get cut up, but the sacramental symbolism is too rich to resist and my girls probably wouldn’t fit/want my gown anyway! too bad we didn’t think of it for the first one!

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Oh I love that idea! What a beautiful gift to your babies to wear a symbol of their parents’ love when they are baptized. LOVE IT. It’s great to hear from you, too 🙂 Keep reading and commenting!

      Like

  3. Jenny Pawlowski Larson says:

    Hi Kari! Over the past week, I’ve been watching all the different Say Yes to the Dress episodes on Netflix streaming while nursing! That show is so addicting! It’s so fun to see the brides’ faces when the find THE dress! Your wedding dress was beautiful! You made a lovely bride!

    Like

    • Kari says:

      I feel the same way about that show. It’s so cool to see how excited the girls are to feel so beautiful in a dress.

      I didn’t realize it was on netflix streaming…you just made my day!! Now on to watch more of this guilty pleasure, without cable!!

      Like

  4. Josie says:

    I know what you mean about being obsessed with your dress. i went back home last weekend for my sister’s bridal shower and I got caught up in “wedding fever.” My sister came home at midnight to find me wearing my veil and gown and walking around the house! I was nervous, considering it was my 2nd anniversary and post-baby. I bravely tried it on and I think I fell more in love with it than the first time! You should throw a party where we can all wear them again!

    Like

Leave a comment

