small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

a brain storm

on July 19, 2011

Today’s small thing: teacher talk.

I visited my new school today. I saw my room. My room. And I smiled, a lot.

Today’s mission was to meet with the other middle school language arts teacher for a little teacher talk. We are both of the same mindset this summer that we’d like to get a good grip on our curriculum and a general plan for the school year before the students enter our classroom.

So yes, I’m working, and not getting paid for it. That, my friends, is what teachers have to do to be successful sometimes!

As we sat at a desk, immersed in teacher’s guides, novels, resource binders, lines and lines of chicken scratched notes, I didn’t once think that I was working. I was loving it! We were throwing ideas back and forth, sharing our own experiences and expertise in our field…it was so refreshing. Especially after being out of practice for a full year. It reminded me that yes, I am supposed to be teaching, and yes, I still got it!

That is why I love teacher talk.

Now I just have to remember that I love it when I’m buried in a stack of papers to grade in just a few months…

What is something you could spend hours and hours talking about?

4 responses to “a brain storm

  1. Keithy says:

    Yay. I love that you love what you do. I’m hoping I find that. I spent this evening talking about leadership and career paths and all sorts of things. I find it strange that I like talking about leadership. It seems like such a dumb and fluffy topic but there is so much to it. It is such a learned experience that people don’t easily recognize it. Obviously you can see that I can talk about it because this the the longest comment I have ever made. 🙂

    Like

    • Kari says:

      Your passion for leadership is obvious, and God didn’t give you that passion for it to go to waste. Don’t worry, you will find what you are meant to do, it just might take longer than you want!

      P.S. I love listening to you talk about your internship and what you learned in leadership studies. You are so smart and it makes your big sis pretty proud 🙂

      Like

  2. Erin says:

    I get the same way talking about my residents/patients! Working at the nursing home was such a blessing! I miss “my little people”,as I often refer to them as, so much! It’s great when you get to see how your vocation fits you so well and how much joy it brings you! yay for loving our professions! 🙂

    Like

    • Kari says:

      You are right about the joy. When I talk about teaching, I just light up. And reading your comment, I could picture you with a big smile on your face!

      Like

Leave a comment

