small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

our story: the start of something good

on July 20, 2011

This is the second installment of the story of my relationship with my husband, Jonathan. If you missed the first one, please check it out before you read this one. our story: the meet-cute   

The start of something good

After Jonathan and I met, one of our mutual friends told us each individually that we should get married. It was a funny though considering I had just met him, so I waved it off, saying maybe in 4 years when he’s done with grad school I’d consider it. Mostly because I figured I’d most definitely find someone else before then.

Jonathan, wanting to make sure his feelings were not influenced by his friend’s remarks, pushed me out of his mind for about a month. After some serious praying about it, he decided to finally respond to the email I sent him a while back.

This turned into frequent email correspondence, instant message conversations, and eventually chatting over the phone. I started to get some sort of inkling that he might be interested in me, but I didn’t think too much of it. I just went with the flow, enjoyed our conversations and mostly just liked developing a new friendship. I remember how he told amazing stories about his new adventures in a new state and he’d even create parodies of songs to sing when he left voicemails. This long distance friendship wasn’t half bad! Looking back, he did an amazing job of pursuing me, of making me feel important and worth getting to know…and I loved it.

He came to KC over his fall break to visit his family, but he spent most of his time with me! He cooked for me a few times, we went on a hike and talked for hours, we even had each other over for dinner to meet our families. It didn’t feel too fast, nothing was forced, it was all so natural.

Our first official date was to the Hee-Haw HoeDown sponsored by the KC young adults group I was involved with. Turns out we both knew people there and I was surprised at how many mutual friends we had. We were goof balls on the dance floor and I really enjoyed seeing his amazing dance moves. A few days later we had another date which was basically just us spending the day together. We went to mass, prayed a rosary, and spent the entire night talking. That is when he bluntly said, “I like you and I want to date you.”

Talk about to the point!

I, of course, was all in. Although I really didn’t know or understand what a long-distance relationship would look like, I knew I really liked him and wanted to see where it would lead. We made a commitment to see each other at least once a month and talk on the phone daily. This was a great comfort knowing that he was willing to make sacrifices to be with me. Not only did he completely pursue me, even from hundreds of miles away, but he was willing to continue to do so. We also laid lots of things out on the table….our views on family, faith, our ambitions, our expectations, etc. This is something I will always appreciate about how we started our relationship. It set the tone for clarity in our communication and helped us to know that we were both on the same page, from the beginning.

So, I entered into a long distance relationship, which is something I told myself I would never do. I also began a long journey of self- discovery with my new boyfriend Jonathan, while 600 miles apart.

Stay tuned for the next installment of the series: Going the Distance

5 responses to “our story: the start of something good

  1. Erin says:

    I remember running into you at church one time while I was back home for college for the weekend. You told me you me a guy and you wanted some prayers because it was a long distance relationship 🙂 love reading your story!

    Like

  2. […] Comments « our story: the start of something good […]

    Like

  3. […] 2.  our story: the start of something good […]

    Like

  4. […] 2.  our story: the start of something good […]

    Like

  5. […] Stay tuned for the next installment of our story: The Start of Something Good […]

    Like

Leave a comment

