small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

our story: the proposal

on July 27, 2011

This is the fourth installment of the story of my relationship with Jonathan. If you missed any part, check them out before reading this one to get the full story. 

1.  our story: the meet-cute

2.  our story: the start of something good

3.  our story: going the distance

The Proposal

After discussing my fears of moving away from family, friends, and a great job, we both came to the conclusion that we should get married within the next year. I remember coming to that realization in July of 2009, and thinking, “Woah, I’m going to get married!” It was a pretty amazing feeling. Even though the idea of spending the rest of your life with one person can be scary and uncertain, when I thought about it being with Jonathan there was a sense of peace around the whole thing. Now I just had to wait for him to make it official.

I knew he was going to propose, but I really had no idea when it would be, or how he would do it. I had at one point in my life thought it would be awesome to be proposed to at a Royals game, in front of tons of people, and we could celebrate by eating my favorite treat, chocolate frosty malts, with the classic wooden spoons.

As I grew older and learned more about myself, and especially my relationship with Jonathan, I started to think I would want the moment to be a little more intimate. I didn’t have any specifics in mind, so I just continued on living in KC away from Jonathan, wondering anxiously when it would come….

It was August 8th, 2009 and I had just arrived back at my apartment after spending the morning at a baby shower for a friend. After changing my clothes I walked out into the living room and Jonathan was standing right there! I had no idea he was in town, so it was a complete shock. After almost dropping my computer in the moment of amazement, I asked him what he was doing in town, and he responded,

I came here to ask you to marry me.”

AHH! He then got down on one knee and showed me the most beautiful ring. I mumbled some words which resembled yes and then he put the ring on my finger. I was shaking as he revealed how he made it to KC and my apartment without me knowing. He’s super sneaky, but I love it. I even made it very difficult for him because I kept trying to plan things for that day!

At this point he also took my phone away from me so I wouldn’t be on the phone the whole day ignoring him. At first I was a little upset because I wanted to tell my MOM, but he insisted and I obliged; he just gave me diamonds.

He then took me to my church so we could go tell Jesus about our engagement. So cute. We spent some time in the adoration chapel, then we went upstairs and prayed the rosary, in thanksgiving for each other, and asking for blessings on our engagement and eventual marriage. It was so special sharing those moments with him.

I was really about to burst because I NEEDED to tell my mom. So we got in the car to head to my parents house when he reminded me that he had spilled a lot of water on his clothes and he wanted to change before we went to see my family. I was quick to tell him it didn’t matter that we should just go straight there, but eventually I gave in and we went to his parents’ house. As we drove up to the house I noticed familiar cars; my parents, grandparents, and all his family was there, waiting for us to join them for a celebratory dinner!

He knows me so well.

We’re all smiles after getting engaged!

So we enjoyed laughs and smiles as we celebrated this milestone in our relationship. I loved my new ring, my new title (fiance), and my new future with Jonathan.

Here is the prayer I wrote in my journal shortly after the proposal:

Lord, thank you for Jonathan. He knows how to love me in ways I didn’t know I needed. He is thoughtful, caring, disciplined, prayerful, level-headed, driven, loyal, etc. All things I need, but didn’t know. Thank you for providing for me. Thank you for shaping my heart to better love and follow your will for me and Jonathan. I grow to love him more and more each day. I pray you give us strength and courage to continue following your will, patience during MORE long distance, and wedding planning. Please remind us that ultimately we are two people striving to get each other to the promised land! Thank you!”

Stay tuned for the next installment of our story: preparing for marriage

9 responses to “our story: the proposal

  1. Kathy says:

    Kari, I am enjoying your “courtship” story. It makes me smile as I follow your journey every step of the way. Thanks for sharing.

    Kathy

    Like

  2. Erin says:

    Kari! I seriously just teared up reading this! I’m such a sap haha especially when it so heavily involves God! 🙂

    Like

  3. Emily says:

    Love you guys. I remember seeing the ring (in pictures) before he got it. I was excited for you then, but even more excited for you now…and you’ve already been married a year!

    Like

  4. lisa says:

    this is truly beautiful! especially the trip to adore the
    Lord on the day of your engagement..So happy and blessed to be your friend.

    Like

  5. […] Stay tuned for the next installment–our story: the proposal […]

    Like

Leave a comment

