small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

super mario

on July 28, 2011

Today’s small thing: watching my husband be mario.

I didn’t grow up playing video games so I rarely have the desire to play them. Jonathan, however, loves playing video games and has the concentration and determination to learn how to play them, and then dominate.

We recently inherited my family’s Nintendo Wii, and Jonathan discovered the downloaded original Super Mario Brothers game. Yes, the one with the famous music and most people know where the hidden coins and mushrooms are. (I know these things because I have some super cool grandparents who owned an original Nintendo gaming system and I played a little over at their house.)

So for the past few days he has come home from work, had some dinner, and worked on beating the Super Mario Bros. game. This has been entertaining for me not only because he always impresses me on how he can evade certain death with supreme skill, but because video games bring out a whole new side of him.

He talks to the game.

He tells the bad guys as he’s shooting them with fire power, “take that you fiends!”

He laughs a little when taking them out.

He calls the bad guys stupid when they kill him.

He screams “fire power!” whenever he shoots with fire.

He reminds the princess he’s going to save her by yelling, “princess, here I come.”

He throws a fist pump after beating each level.

He tells me to help him beat level 8-4 by remembering the pattern, even though he knows I’m not going to be much help.

And after seeing the words GAME OVER, he starts back at 1-1 because he knows he’ll beat it eventually.

We’ll be playing Wii Sports after this, it’s more my style. 🙂

What is your favorite video game?

2 responses to “super mario

  1. Keithy says:

    That Mario bros is a good one. I like mario kart. I could play that all day.

    Like

  2. Erin says:

    I love the old Aladdin game!

    Like

Leave a comment

