small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

name

on August 8, 2011

Today’s small thing: my nameplate

There is something special about seeing your own name in print. It makes it feel official, special.

The first time I had a nameplate was when I was a Community Assistant for the dorms in college. I worked the front desk of my dorm, and when I was on duty I got to put my nameplate in the slot. I felt so cool.

My nameplate at my old school was at first a piece of masking tape with my name written in permanent marker, then upgraded to a label, and eventually it was typed on paper and slid into the holder outside my classroom.

Now, in my new room, I have an official nameplate. Not handwritten, or typed, but I like to call it engraved. And it’s with my new name, which I’m still trying to get used to!

It looks so official, and after spending a year of not feeling official, this feels great.

What are some things that make you feel special, official?

 

2 responses to “name

  1. Ellen says:

    And it looks fabulous right outside your beautifully organized classroom!! I had fun helping you today. You’re going to have a great year!

    Like

  2. Keithy says:

    To start, there is a big space after language. I think having your name on things definitely makes things official.

    Like

Leave a comment

