small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

remembering 9/11

on September 11, 2011

Today’s small thing: remembering 9/11

I know the small thing is always something happy, and 9/11/01 was definitely not a happy day. If anything it was terrifying. But moments of reflection really are very healthy, so it’s a small thing for my day.

As I have been reflecting on that day 10 years ago, and reading lots of ‘Where I was when…’ facebook posts, I have just wanted to stop thinking about it and not read any more posts.

I feel that remembering this day isn’t enough. Remembering where you were the moment you found out isn’t enough. Nothing really is enough. Many lives were taken. Our safety was threatened. All the comforts we had known were shaken.

And what have we learned?

Each time the anniversary comes I feel I get more and more jaded by seeing the images, listening to the memories, and thinking about what happened. I still take things for granted; I still live in my own bubble.

I am, however, inspired by the stories of heroism and courage. I am inspired by those who have rebuilt their lives after mourning the loss of loved ones. I am inspired by those who live with hope of a future of peace. I am inspired by those who endured the pain and rise up again. I am inspired by those who pray.

We may never see true peace in our lifetime. There will probably always be war of some sort, visible and invisible. But we can live with hope, and pray that we will learn from what has happened in the past to make a stronger, brighter future.

“Rejoice in hope, endure in affliction, persevere through prayer.” Romans 12:12

 

What have you learned from the tragedy of 9/11/01? I have learned to always tell those I love how much I care for them.

 

Leave a comment

