small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

the right book

on October 23, 2011

Yesterday’s small thing: Finding the right book.

I have been extremely busy in the past few weeks. I took on a new tutoring job twice a week and I’ve been drowning in a stack of reading journals and papers that take centuries to grade. Therefore my free time has been very limited.

Last night Jonathan was playing Risk with some of his buddies, so I decided to have a night to myself. I went to the grocery store, folded laundry, and watched my favorite Halloween movie, Hocus Pocus. When all of that was completed I still had a few hours before I wanted to go to bed, so I wandered to our library. (Two bookshelves in our guest bedroom). I wanted to find a book that I had a strong desire to read and would be something to help me through my seemingly unending workload.

I scanned the shelves of books that I’ve read, ones I still haven’t, and nothing really struck me. Then I remembered back to my retreat from Friday. The topic was growing in holiness. Perfect. Which book would help me with that…

I then thought that I really should work on my prayer, since in all my business I’ve been putting that to the side, which is probably why I haven’t been motivated to do much of anything. So then the book, the perfect book, showed itself. Time for God by Jacques Philippe is a book about the importance of prayer and making time for it. I read the first 20 or so pages and I am now hooked.

If you need a jump start back into prayer and understanding the purpose and reason for it, get this book. It’s short, to the point, and not overwhelming.

Now I just need to make more time for the book, and for God.

What is your perfect book right now?

Leave a comment

