small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

with your eyes closed

on October 28, 2011

Today’s small thing: a musical moment

My husband and I had a date night tonight. He took me to the nice theater downtown to a Straight No Chaser concert. I am a huge fan of a cappella music, and we’ve been watching a lot of the show The Sing Off, so this was perfect.

I knew I was going to love every moment of the show, but I was surprised at how one song affected me.

They sang Coldplay’s “Fix You”, which is an incredible song in its original form. But there was something so moving about hearing it sung by ten voices, no other instruments. After about 10 seconds I closed my eyes and drank in the harmonies. The sound filled the room and my mind, taking me to another place.

I was so focused on the music with my eyes closed. I was fully present. Music can do that to you. It can stop you in your tracks, almost change your heartbeat to match the beat of the song, or morph your breathing into the song’s rhythm. Moments like that make me so thankful for the ability to hear such beautiful things.

I’ve included a YouTube video of one of their performances of this song. Listen, with your eyes closed, and you’ll know what I’m talking about. 🙂

What is a song that makes you stop and listen? (I haven’t heard from readers in a while, are you still there?)

Leave a comment

