small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

family birthdays

on November 6, 2011

Today’s small thing: Skyping in to a family birthday party.

It stinks living away from my family, especially when one of them celebrates a birthday. Yesterday was my mom’s 29th birthday (or something like that), and today is my brother Keith’s 23rd. Yes, my mother headed to the hospital on her own birthday…that is LOVE.

Today they celebrated those birthdays at my parents’ house, and I was carried around on the iPad talking to the fam. It was nothing like actually being there, especially since I couldn’t eat my mom’s pumpkin pie. But it was still nice to be able to feel a part of the celebration.

I hope that in the near future I won’t have to go to birthday parties through a camera. For now, though, I am thankful for that technology to ease the sadness of living far away.

So, happy birthday to a wonderful mother who has taught me how to be generous, kind, loving, thoughtful, and how to laugh.

And happy birthday to my amazing brother Keith who uses witty comments, teaches me how to use technology, knows how to make me laugh, and always makes me proud to be his big sister.

I love you both and miss you terribly. I’m so happy you’re in my life!

P.S. I also want to wish my sister-in-law, Lizzy, a happy birthday as well. She makes me smile always and sings Disney songs with me. I think I’ll keep her. Happy birthday!

 

What special birthdays will you celebrate this month? Oh, and my good friend Brook celebrates her birthday tomorrow!

2 responses to “family birthdays

  1. Keith says:

    I was thanking Skype and Apple today for allowing my sister and brother-in-law to come to the party from many miles away. It was neat having tou there. Can’t wait to see you in person in a few weeks!

    Like

  2. Grandma Kennedy says:

    We enjoyed you being there on Skype also. Hope to see you soon in person. Love you and Jonathan both and miss you too. Grandma and Papa

    Like

Leave a comment

