small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

what are you waiting for, the ice to freeze?

on November 13, 2011

The small thing from Friday: small children playing hockey

One of the great things about living in a college town is that there is always something to do. Friday we went to the Notre Dame hockey game. They just opened the new hockey arena this season, so it was really fun just to see the new place. It is beautiful. From the outside it just looks like another building on campus, but inside is a whole other story.

We got to go in for free since Jonathan is a student, and I’m his spouse. I love that perk. Then we sat in the upper balcony so we could get a great bird’s eye view of everything.

Everyone, I mean everyone was making noise. They gave out little cowbell noisemakers, and I’m pretty sure I left the arena still hearing them ringing for a few hours later. And yes, they did play “Don’t Fear the Reaper” and I had to laugh. The only prescription is more cowbell…

At one point in the game some students started to chant  “quack, quack,quack, quack….” and I kind of wanted the Mighty Ducks to come out. 😉

The best part was the first intermission. Of course I love watching the Zamboni drive around the ice….but the small children playing hockey is way better. I really think there was more uniform than kid skating around. Oh it was priceless.

The game was exciting and full of checking, icing, penalties, and power plays.  I forgot how much I love watching hockey in person.

And ND came out on top with a 5-4 victory.

I know for certain we’ll be going to more games. It also made me really excited to see my cousin play in December!

What is your favorite sport to watch in person?

2 responses to “what are you waiting for, the ice to freeze?

  1. Keith says:

    My favorite to watch in person is professional painting, college basketball and senior knitting.

    Like

  2. Courtney says:

    HOCKEY!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

