small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

oil change

on December 12, 2011

Today’s small thing: chattin’ it up with the townspeople while waiting for an oil change

I don’t like making time to take my car in for an oil change and tire rotation. I just always feel like it will take FOREVER. So, knowing that I will be taking my car on another loooong trek next week, I had no choice but to take lots of work with me and brace myself for a wait.

After about 20 minutes they call my name, and I can see the frustration on the faces of all the other people crowded in the waiting area. I was shocked at how fast it was, but then I noticed they didn’t do the rotation. Great. So I get to go back to my seat and wait, like I prepared myself to do.

As I returned to my seat, a man mentioned something about my not getting to leave. Then he started some small talk, asked what I was working on and eventually got to the fact that I am a teacher.

That sparked quite the conversation which took the attention of the waiting area away from the latest Judge Judy case. They asked me what my thoughts were on private vs. public schools, how I like the students, etc. People were chiming in with their thoughts on why schools are in trouble, some talked about parenting, some talked about respect, some mentioned the state guidelines…I was encouraged by their thoughts, especially since they were in support of teachers. I guess it was nice to hear it from strangers!

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised by the conversation while waiting for the tire rotation. It was more entertaining than planning my lessons.  I guess there was a reason for my extra waiting…there usually is!

What do you do while you wait for your car’s oil change and other car things?

One response to “oil change

  1. Keithy says:

    That’s the real problem with education is that teachers set out to do their work and end up talking with strangers about the work they should be doing! (I’m kidding, you know that)! I wait for Dad to finish at the place for my oil changes. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

