small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

solo

on February 29, 2012

Today’s small thing: getting to sing a solo


I love to sing. And I love to sing even more when there is a role to play, some type of emotion to bring to the song.

Tonight at choir practice we were going through one of our pieces for Good Friday. It is a beautiful but sad piece chronicling Mary’s experience of Jesus’ life. Basically the refrain is Mary singing a lullaby through all stages of His life. There is one solo part in the middle which takes place right after Jesus dies.

“Jesus rest your weary head, your work on earth is done.”

As our director sang that line, I was moved, and only wished I could be able to sing that part, entering into the emotions that Mary must have felt in that moment. But then I told myself that there are many other people who she would pick before me. That is how it has usually gone in my choir life in the past. So I resolved to love to listen to that part.

Then I heard my name. I was so startled and I’m pretty sure my face turned red and I couldn’t think. She was picking me to do the part!

We sang through it a few times and she mentioned to me that I had the freedom, the way the piece is written, to freely sing those words like Mary might have spoken them in that moment. (She also said my voice is ‘yellow’ which is why she wanted me to do the part…I’m still thinking about the color thing.)

I can’t even express what this means to me. To be able to share those emotions with the people listening to the song is very powerful. This is going to be amazing. I just hope I can get through it without tearing up.

I just wanted to share that bit of joy with all of you. I think you should come to my church on Good Friday to hear this beautiful song!

Do you like doing things solo? It depends on what we’re talking about for me, singing and playing an instrument, yes. Going to a movie or traveling? Not so much.

3 responses to “solo

  1. kirk says:

    awesome!

    Like

  2. mom says:

    I will be there. In spirit.

    Like

  3. Keithykins says:

    That’s way exciting. I would not want a solo in the choir. I wish I would have soloed more in jazz, but I didn’t like it at the time. I like watching TV by myself.

    Like

Leave a comment

