small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

alpha beta…

on March 13, 2012

Today’s small thing: a Greek sing-along


My 6th graders are studying mythology for the next few weeks and they’re loving it. Mostly thanks to Rick Riorden and his amazing Percy Jackson series for young readers; most of my students have read them. For those of you who don’t know, the Percy Jackson series gives a modern take on ancient greek mythology. The kids love the adventure, and how the gods and goddesses take on more contemporary personalities. I highly recommend these books!

I digress.

As a supplement to reading various Greek myths, I thought it would be fun to teach the kids the Greek alphabet. I remember learning it in 9th grade when we studied mythology, and learning a very catchy song to go with it. Amazing that it has stuck with me for over 10 years!

Yesterday I introduced the alphabet to my students, laboriously going through each letter and its pronunciation numerous times. Then I told them I was going to teach them a song, and most of their eyes lit up and I heard a few excited breaths. Of course there were a few eye rolls, but I’ve learned to ignore those.

I began singing the song and I saw many students bopping their heads, following each letter with their fingers, silently forming the words on their lips. And then they all joined me.

It was a blast.

We had our own little Greek sing-along. I then realized I need to do that more often! Especially when one kid said, ” I really like singing this!”

Gotta love it.

What song from your childhood still sticks with you? Besides the Greek alphabet song (ha) I’d say “Eidelweiss” because my mom sang it to me every night before bed. 🙂

3 responses to “alpha beta…

  1. Keith says:

    So eidelweiss of course, but from school…the 50 nifty united states…times tables songs…anything from a 90s tv show

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    My students STILL love the “happy birthday” song with “and many more..on channel 4, .”. I’m like, ok, fifth grade, really? You’re 11. Let’s get over the part ….”and the big fat lady on channel 80!” hehe.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    I remember learning that song with you!!

    Like

Leave a comment

